Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Washington University Libraries
Ask Us

email  chat  phone  text

Research Guides - Sonya Rooney

University Archivist

Profile Image
Sonya Rooney
Contact Info:
University Archives
West Campus Library
314-935-9730

Guides

American Holidays & Culture
by Jennifer Kirmer, Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated May 21, 2013
A guide to locating archival sources about American holidays, celebrations, and customs
Tags: 19th_century, 20th_century, art, customs, history, holidays, illustration, parades, st_louis_history, stl, visual_culture
American Politics & Society in the 1970s
by Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Sep 23, 2013
Primary and secondary sources available at University Archives and the WU Libraries
Tags: 20th_century, ecology, humanities, washington university in st. louis, washu
Archives in Action
by Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Apr 11, 2014
University Archives supports scholarship by preserving and providing access to over 300 unique collections that chronicle the history of Washington University from 1853 to today, as well as related St. Louis history and architectural topics.
Tags: bibliography, multidisciplinary, teaching, university_history, washington university in st. louis
Baseball History in St. Louis
by Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
Resources at University Archives and the WU Libraries for the history and culture of baseball in the United States and the St. Louis region
Tags: 19th_century, 20th_century, baseball, recreation, sports, st_louis_history
Class - AMCS 475 American Culture: Methods and Visions
by Jennifer Kirmer, Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated May 21, 2013
American Culture Studies Class, Fall 2009
Decolonization & Transregional History Sources
by Jennifer Kirmer, Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Aug 8, 2013
A guide to primary and secondary sources that are broadly related to the 20th century decolonization movement
Tags: 20th_century, area_studies, colonialism, government, historical, imperialism, league of nations, nationalism, postcolonial, transnational, united nations
Fine Arts Education at WU
by Jennifer Kirmer, Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated May 22, 2013
Resources for the 19th and early 20th century history of the Sam Fox School of Art and Design.
Tags: 19th_century, 20th_century, wustl
HST America & the Guilded Age
by Jennifer Kirmer, Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Jan 30, 2013
Spring 2010
Japanese-American History in St. Louis
by Jennifer Kirmer, Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Jul 18, 2013
Overview of primary and secondary sources available at University Archives and online, focused on the WWII experience of Japanese-Americans, especially in the St. Louis region.
Tags: 20th_century, american, diversity, japanese, stl, undergraduate, united_states, war, washington university in st. louis, wustl, wwii
LGBT History - Archive Sources
by Jennifer Kirmer, Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Dec 9, 2013
primary and secondary sources about LGBT history at Washington University and in the St. Louis region.
Tags: diversity, gay, gender, lavender, lesbian, lgbt, lgbtq, queer_politics, stl, washu, wustl
Mary Wickes : Her Life and Legacy
by Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Nov 4, 2013
Resources to explore more about the life of Mary Wickes, a WUSTL alumni and well-known character actress, whose personal papers are located at University Archives.
Tags: alumni, broadway, donor, drama, hollywood, movies, musical, television, theater, tv, wustl
Performing Arts - Archive Sources
by Jennifer Kirmer, Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated May 21, 2013
Research guide and primary sources for Dance, Drama, and Theater related topics
Tags: costume, dance, fashion, fine_arts, theater, theatre, university_history, washington university in st. louis
Pruit-Igoe Housing Project History
by Jennifer Kirmer, Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Oct 21, 2013
Primary and Secondary sources for researching the St. Louis, Missouri public housing complex known as "Pruitt-Igoe"
Tags: 20th_century, history, housing, st_louis_history, urban_planning, urban_studies
St. Louis Area Historic Maps
by Makiba Foster, Jennifer Moore, Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Feb 11, 2014
A guide to locating historic maps of the St. Louis (Missouri) regional area.
Tags: 19th_century, 20th_century, cartography, geography, st_louis_history, stl, urban_design, urban_planning
Tennessee Williams
by Joel Minor, Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Nov 1, 2013
This guide outlines various research materials about famed playwright and former Washington University student Tennessee Williams available in University Archives (at West Campus) and in the Manuscripts Unit (at Olin Library).
Tags: 20th_century, literature, memoirs, theater, theatre, wustl, wustl_authors
Tobacco: History & Culture - Archival Sources
by Jennifer Kirmer, Jennifer Moore, Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated May 21, 2013
Primary and Secondary sources that focus on tobacco-related products, and their role in American history, culture, science, and public policy.
Tags: 20th_century, anthropology, cultural_anthropology, public_health, washington university in st. louis
University Archives
by Jennifer Kirmer, Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
This guide will help you navigate University Archives' more than 300 unique collections, most of which document the history of Washington University from 1853 to today. Other collections are related to 20th century St. Louis history.
Tags: 19th_century, 20th_century, african_american_history, architectural_history, architecture, college, history, st_louis_history, university_history, urban_planning, women
Unthinkable Crimes (AMCS 375A-1) Class Resources
by Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Sep 9, 2013
Primary and secondary sources related to the course "Unthinkable Crimes," focused on sensational crimes in American history from the colonial era through World War II.
Tags: 19th_century, 20th_century
Vietnam War (1961-1975)
by Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Sep 17, 2013
Primary and Secondary sources available for researching events surrounding and/or related to the war in Vietnam
Tags: 20th_century, foreign_relations, nationalism, postcolonial, world_history
World War I - Archive Sources
by Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Nov 11, 2013
Primary sources related to the 'Great War' (WWI) available from University Archives
Tags: 20th_century, globalization, wustl, wwi
 
 
Description

  Loading...