Searches Oxford Dictionary of American Quotations, Brewer's Famous Quotations, Oxford Dictionary of Political Quotations, Oxford Dictionary of Scientific Quotations, Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations, Oxford Dictionary of Modern Quotations, and Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. Each dictionary may also be searched separately.
On our website you'll find more than 36,000 quotations from over 6,000 famous people, such as Benjamin Disraeli, Oscar Wilde, Marilyn Monroe, Winston Churchill, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Mahatma Gandhi, Mother Teresa, Mark Twain, William Shakespeare, Confucius, Woody Allen, Abraham Lincoln, Martin Luther King, Jr. and other great authors. Read the most brilliant and smartest things ever said.
"Despite the fact that secrecy is vital to the Mob, mobsters have revealed themselves to be notorious gossips, prone to bragging, and even outrageous loudmouths. Delve into the inner workings of the Mob and the mindset of those who run it through these mesmerizing quotes from some of the smoothest and most dangerous criminals, real and fictional, who ever made headlines. Whether they're spilling to their lawyers or making blood-chilling threats, mobsters reveal startling insights on leadership, guilt, and loyalty. While at times shocking, crude, and even unintentionally funny, these quotes also help us to see the humanity behind these dark bosses of the underworld and give us a little insight into the dark side of our own natures, as well."
"Celebrating both the famous and the obscure from every genre of music including classical, rock, Latin, country, blues, and hip-hop, The Little Red Book of Musician's Wisdom offers a touching anecdote or pithy line for every musical occasion. Musicians, critics, DJs, and industry onlookers provide illuminating commentary on a wealth of topics: singing, rehearsing, and performing, success, fame, and fortune, failure and rejection, love, passion, and sex, aging and death, humor and wit, religion and spirituality."
"Not just an anthology, this extensive index offers keyword, title, and author name access to more than 1,800 quotations from nearly 500 classic, award-winning, and popular works for children. Pearls of humor and wisdom from authors such as the Brothers Grimm, Dr. Seuss, Judith Viorst, and Shel Silverstein are at your fingertips. Very few quotations have been indexed in other works, making this a unique tool to find that elusive quote."
"Drawing upon two centuries of the vast and provocative literature of science fiction and fantasy, this comprehensive book presents more than 2,900 quotations from wide-ranging sources, including science fiction and fantasy stories, novels, films and television programmes. The quotations are organised by topic - alien worlds; darkness and light; robots, androids and cyborgs; machines and technology; weapons; and more than one hundred others. The reader will encounter the wit and wisdom of renowned authors (H. G. Wells, Ray Bradbury, J. R. R. Tolkien, Ursula K. Le Guin) along with definitive versions of such important statements as Isaac Asimov's Three Laws of Robotics and Star Trek's Prime Directive. With its thorough index, this book is both an invaluable resource for the writer or scholar and an irresistible page-turner for the curious browser."
"A compilation of quotations originally collected for the 'Quotes of the Week' section of Library Juice, an electronic magazine that dealt with philosophical and political dimensions of librarianship."
"Containing over 1,000 quotations by noted African Americans and black African men and women - from Spike Lee to Terry McMillan, from Colin Powell to Shaquille O'Neal, from Nelson Mandela to U.S. poet laureate Rita Dove - this selection of contemporary quotations is inspirational, spiritual, and uplifting. Reading the words of these men and women provides young African Americans with many role models, as those quoted remind readers that hard work and perseverance can lead to success - and that one individual can make a difference. Focusing primarily on quotations from the 1990s, this book is organized alphabetically by author, with each quotation numbered sequentially. The work is indexed by author and subject/key word to provide multiple access to the quotations."