Skip to main content

Research & Tech Workshop: Enhancing your Research with Special Collections

Washington University Libraries' Special Collections contain exciting research materials that are available to everyone. In this session, students will learn how to find and access these rare or unique primary and secondary sources as well as get an overv

Using Special Collections and Archives

Loading

Tools & Tips for Finding Archives, Rare Books, Special Collections

Additional directories and sources in WU Catalog

Browse by [term] -- [country] -- Directories

Search topic as a subject with keywords: archives, catalogs, sources, or manuscripts.

Loading

WU Special Collections

Special Collections includes a variety of collecting areas. Click on the links below to access webpages for each area.

Manuscripts material highlighted in Research Studio

Rare Books material highlighted in Research Studio

University Archives material highlighted in Research Studio

  • U.S. Presidential Debate Collection, 2016: The collection includes publications, media kits, souvenirs, and other material documenting the U.S. Presidential Debate held at Washington University on October 9, 2016.

Local History material highlighted in Research Studio

Popular American Arts material highlighted in Research Studio

Film & Media Archive material highlighted in Research Studio

  • Online resources
  • Physical items in the classroom
    • Photographs form "Eyes on the Prize" documentary.  These photos show people and events from the Civil Rights Movement from 1955 - 1965, including but not limited to these people / events: Emmett Till, Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, Fannie Lou Hamer, Medgar Evers, Myrlie Evers, Bayard Rustin, John Lewis, Rosa Parks; Montgomery Bus Boycott, Brown v. Board of Education Supreme Court case, Little Rock school integration crisis of 1957, University of Mississippi Freedom Summer, Voting Rights Act, 1963 March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom, and the 1968 Democratic National Convention.

Modern Graphic History Library in Research Studio