Brown School Reference Librarian
Lori Siegel
she/her
Contact:
Lori Siegel
Reference Librarian
Brown Hall, Room 301A
lsiegel@wustl.edu
(314) 935-4064
Brown School Library
Brown Hall, Room 300
brownlibrary@wustl.edu
(314) 935-6633
Reference Librarian
Brown Hall, Room 301A
lsiegel@wustl.edu
(314) 935-4064
Brown School Library
Brown Hall, Room 300
brownlibrary@wustl.edu
(314) 935-6633
Subjects: Social Work
Boxes on This Social Policy - Background/Opinion Subpage
Here are links to the boxes on this Social Policy - Background/Opinion subpage. The links will quickly jump the screen to the boxes of information.
Background & Opinion Resources
Background & Opinion Policy Organizations
Social Policy - Background & Opinion Resources
- Green Book Updates on the Ways & Means Committee WebsiteUpdates to selected chapters of the Green Book posted on the House committee's website. 1996-current. https://greenbook-waysandmeans.house.gov/
- Green Book (Background Material and Data on Major Programs within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means) in Electronic Format via GovInfoFederal. 2004 edition from the House of Representatives. Describes major welfare programs. Includes background, context, enabling legislation, and financial information. https://www.govinfo.gov/collection/green-book?path=/GPO/Background%20Material%20and%20Data%20on%20the%20Programs%20within%20the%20Jurisdiction%20of%20the%20Committee%20on%20Ways%20and%20Means%20%2528Green%20Book%2529
- Green Book (Background Material and Data on Major Programs within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means) in Paper Format2004. In the WUSTL libraries. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1280909~S2
- Handbook of Social Policy (Online Format)Federal. Discusses many social programs and provides historical background and context. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b8006560~S2
- Catalog - Materials in the WUSTL LibrariesMany library materials discuss specific programs in detail. They often include history, social context, key legislation, how the program affects society, and needed changes. https://spokane.wustl.edu/
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of topics. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- America: History & Life (1964-) This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the U.S. and Canada. Includes recent history. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society This link opens in a new window1699+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- American Periodicals (1740 - 1940) This link opens in a new windowDigitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff
- Annual Reviews (1950 - ) This link opens in a new windowReview articles on a broad range of social and policy topics. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) (1987-) This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of social sciences. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) (1991 - ) This link opens in a new windowThink tank working papers, policy briefs, summaries, etc. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
*** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
- Congressional Digest (Online Format)Federal. Full text articles on selected legislation. Includes background, pros and cons, etc. 1922+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7546362~S2
- Congressional Research Service: Search CRS Reports *** EMPHASIS ON POLICYFrom the Congressional Research Service. "This collection provides the public with access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress." https://crsreports.congress.gov/ ***EMPHASIS ON POLICY
- Congressional Research Service Reports via UNT *** EMPHASIS ON POLICYFederal. Provides policy and legal analysis to committees and members of both the House and Senate. Part of the Legislative Branch. https://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/CRSR/
*** EMPHASIS ON POLICY - Congressional Research Service Reports via ProQuest Congressional *** EMPHASIS ON POLICYFederal. Has many full text reports. 1916+. Choose the Advanced search mode and select CRS Reports. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
*** EMPHASIS ON POLICY - Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports via Hein OnlineOff-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- Congressional Research Service Reports via crsreports.comAnother website to try if the UNT or ProQuest websites fail to provide your needed information. https://www.crsreports.com/
- Congressional Research Service Reports via everycrsreport.comUse if other resources fail to provide your needed information. Authorship is redacted on this website. https://www.everycrsreport.com/
- CQ Researcher (1991 - ) This link opens in a new windowSome state level if it is of national importance. Discusses many legislative/policy issues. Includes history, major legislation, context, current situation, needed changes. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
*** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
- CQ (Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Online)Formerly CQ Weekly. Federal. Full text articles on selected legislation. Includes background, politics, etc. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. Click the drop-down arrow and choose SEARCH CQ MAGAZINE. Then type in your key words. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7548627~S2
- Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports via GAO *** EMPHASIS ON POLICYFederal. 1971+. Reports discuss the efficiency, effectiveness, and cost-benefit of selected legislation. GAO is part of the Legislative Branch. https://www.gao.gov/search
*** EMPHASIS ON POLICY - Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports via GovInfo *** EMPHASIS ON POLICY1989-2008. https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/GAOREPORTS *** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
- Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports via Hein OnlineOff-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff. ***EMPHASIS ON POLICY
- Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports in the Library Catalog *** EMPHASIS ON POLICYIncludes selected online and paper reports. MODIFY the search and then add in your keywords. SuDoc number: GA 1.13. https://spokane.wustl.edu/search/X?SEARCH=(%22ga%201.13%22)&SORT=D *** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
- Government Printing Office (GPO) via Catalog InterfaceFederal government publications. 1976+. Consider using the Advanced Search mode. https://catalog.gpo.gov/F?RN=96575195
- Government Printing Office (GPO) via FirstSearchAlternate interface. 1976+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications in Paper FormatCatalog of government publications. Approximately 1951-2004 in paper and microform. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1135602~S2
- Additional U.S. Government Agencies Government Documents at WUSTL Pre-1976 in Paper FormatMany older government documents are available in paper format even though they may not appear in the WUSTL library catalog. Here is the guide to locating these documents. https://wayback.archive-it.org/4359/20201217164524/https://library.wustl.edu/units/westcampus/govdocs/usgovagencies/
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowBroad variety of governmental and legal resources. Covers legislative and executive branches. Has legal journals. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new windowIndexing and full text of over 1,025 legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications, and government publications.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (1951 - ) This link opens in a new windowAlso known as IBSS. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBroad range of topics. Good database for older articles. Full text. Consider using the Advanced Search mode. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNews, legal resources. Includes: journals; television and radio broadcasts; newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers. Legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes. Includes U.S. Supreme Court decisions. Most newspaper articles are full text. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- National Journal in Electronic FormatFederal. Political and legislative topics. 1994+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7609327~S2
- National Journal in Paper Format1969-2010. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1048876~S2
- NTIS/NTRL (National Technical Information Service/National Technical Reports Library)Over 3 million federal government publications covering over 350 subject areas related to government funded activities. 1964+. https://ntrl.ntis.gov/NTRL/
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowPublic affairs and public policy. 1914+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
*** EMPHASIS ON POLICY - Social Services Abstracts (1979 - ) This link opens in a new windowCovers social work and welfare, human services, policy, community development, etc. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of social and societal topics. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - ) This link opens in a new windowCovers politics, policy, and legislation. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
*** EMPHASIS ON POLICY
- USA.govGateway to government information. Some state and local information. https://www.usa.gov/
- Additional Database Resources at WUSTLWUSTL provides access to hundreds of databases. Search by database name, topic, or browse the A-Z list. https://libguides.wustl.edu/az.php
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. 1827-1919. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- Atlanta Daily World, Historical (1931-2010) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- Baltimore Afro-American, Historical (1893 - 2010) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- Boston Globe (1872-1989) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. Coverage: 1872-1991. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- Chicago Defender, Historical (1910-2010) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. Covers 1909-2010. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Chicago Tribune, Historical (1849-2013) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new windowMost newspapers are full text. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Factiva (6 users) This link opens in a new windowCovers many business and financial newspapers. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- HarpWeek: The Civil War Era, Reconstruction, and the Gilded Age (1857 - 1912) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Hartford Courant (1764-1987) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. Covers 1764-1997. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
- Los Angeles Times (1881-2015) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. 1939-2010. Offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowMany newspapers are full text. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- New York Times, Historical (1851-3 year ago) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. 1851+. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspapers (1800 - 1900) This link opens in a new windowNewspapers. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Philadelphia Tribune, Historical (1912-2010) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. "The Philadelphia Tribune, the oldest continuously published black newspaper..." Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- Pittsburgh Courier, Historical (1911-2010) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. "The Pittsburgh Courier was one of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers..." Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- Saint Louis Post-Dispatch (1874 - 2003) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- San Francisco Chronicle (1865 - 1922) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- Wall Street Journal via FactivaNewspaper. CHOOSE Source. Click on the plus sign for The Wall Street Journal. Click on The Wall Street Journal Online. Change the Date from "in the last 3 months" to "All dates." Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- Wall Street Journal, Historical (1889-2003) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. Covers 1889-2011. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Washington Post (1877-2007) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog (1975 - ) This link opens in a new window1893+. Directory of American films. Choose from the Genre of documentary. Note: The film may not be available at WUSTL. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- C-SPAN Video LibraryVideos of federal government activities. Consider the tabs for Congress, Executive, and Supreme Court. https://www.c-span.org/
- FactCheck.org"...aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases." Search tab has a keyword box and Archives tab has an issues section. https://www.factcheck.org//
- PolitiFact.com"PolitiFact is an independent fact-checking journalism website aimed at bringing you the truth in politics. PolitiFact's reporters and editors fact-check statements from the White House, Congress, candidates, advocacy groups and more, rating claims for accuracy..." https://www.politifact.com/
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (1975 - ) This link opens in a new windowSearch using keywords and documentar* Note: The film may not be available at WUSTL. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Film Index International This link opens in a new windowSearch using a keyword and documentary. Note: The film may not be available at WUSTL. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- Google Advanced Search for Film ClipsSearch Google with your topic's keywords and some of the following: cinema documentaries documentary film films "motion picture" "motion pictures" movie movies "streaming video" "streaming videos" videocast videocasts. https://www.google.com/advanced_search
- Google Advanced Search for Radio & Television ClipsPrograms on your topic may have clips, interviews, podcasts, etc. Search Google with your topic's keywords and some of the following: broadcast broadcasts interview interviews newscast newscasts podcast podcasts radio "streaming video" "streaming videos" television transcript transcripts video videocast videocasts videos webcast webcasts. https://www.google.com/advanced_search
- Nexis Uni Search for News TranscriptsCLICK ON CONTINUE. After page loads, Search Within Results for the keywords related to your topic. Link expires 7-21-2025. [Advanced search> News> Publication Type=news transcripts> Limit to news transcripts] Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
Social Policy - Background & Opinion Policy Organizations
Many associations, institutes, interest groups, research centers, think tanks, etc. produce opinion pieces, policy briefs, working papers, etc. Many of their websites have search boxes or list the publications in a publications tab or a research tab. To find these organizations, consider the following resources.
- Brookings Institution"Brookings brings together more than 300 leading experts in government and academia from all over the world who provide the highest quality research, policy recommendations, and analysis on a full range of public policy issues." https://www.brookings.edu/
- Center on Budget and Policy PrioritiesAnalysis to inform debate over budget and tax policy issues to help ensure the needs of the low-income. Federal and state level. https://www.cbpp.org/
- Congressional Member and Staff OrganizationsInformal member groups/organizations registered with the Committee on House Administration. https://cha.house.gov/congressional-member-and-staff-organizations
- GuideStar This link opens in a new windowInformation on over 1.5 million organizations. WUSTL subscribes to the Premier version which has more search features and extensive 990s compared to the free version. Off-campus access to the PREMIER version is restricted to current WUSTL students/faculty/staff.
- IssueLab.orgBy Candid. Social policy research from over 400 nonprofits. https://www.issuelab.org/
- John F. Kennedy School of Government (Harvard University)List of centers, institutes, think tanks, etc. with active links. From the library's research guide: Think tank search. https://guides.library.harvard.edu/hks/think_tank_search/US
- JSTOR Open Research Reports (free full text)"...from over 140 policy institutes around the world." https://about.jstor.org/oa-and-free/open-research-reports
- Kaiser Family Foundation"Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy...We serve as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public." https://www.kff.org/
- Leadership Connect This link opens in a new windowDirectory of individuals and organizations. There is a tab for nonprofits and associations. Off-campus access is restricted to current WUSTL students, faculty, and staff.
- Mathematica Policy Research"Mathematica Policy Research is a pioneering nonpartisan research organization dedicated to improving public well-being. Our 1,200+ experts conduct policy research, data collection, and data analytics that meet the highest standards of quality and objectivity, working with decision makers across the public and private sectors."
https://www.mathematica-mpr.com/ - Rand Corporation"... research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous. RAND is nonprofit, nonpartisan, and committed to the public interest." https://www.rand.org/
- Research Centers Directory in Paper FormatDirectory of research centers in the United States. In the WUSTL libraries. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b1120204~S2
- Google's Advanced Search for Title Keywords to Find OrganizationsUse Google's advanced search in order to limit your keywords to the Title field. Combine your search topic with some of the following words: association, center, clearinghouse, commission, council, institute, network, research, "think tank". https://www.google.com/advanced_search
Here are selected examples of Brown School policy briefs:
Clark-Fox Policy Institute https://clarkfoxpolicyinstitute.wustl.edu/home/publications-2/policy-briefs/
Center for Advancing Health Services, Policy & Economics Research (formerly: Center for Health Economics and Policy) https://publichealth.wustl.edu/centers/cahsper/resources/policy-publications
Center for Public Health Systems Science https://cphss.wustl.edu/products/research-briefs/
Center for Social Development https://csd.wustl.edu/publications/pub-type/briefs/
Center for Violence and Injury Prevention https://cvip.wustl.edu/home/resources/policy-briefs/
Harvey A. Friedman Center for Aging https://publichealth.wustl.edu/briefs-on-aging/
International Center for Child Health and Development https://ichad.wustl.edu/reports/
Prevention Research Center in St. Louis https://prcstl.wustl.edu/tools-and-resources/issue-briefs/
- Website Policy Paper Search in GoogleSearch your topic in Google and use some of the following phrases: "policy analysis", "policy brief", "policy paper", "policy report", "position paper", "program report", "progress report", "research paper", "research report", "white paper", "working paper" https://www.google.com/advanced_search