This is the "Tennessee Williams" page of the "Tennessee Williams " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Washington University Libraries
Ask Us

email  chat  phone  text

Tennessee Williams   Tags: 20th_century, literature, memoirs, theater, theatre, wustl, wustl_authors  

This guide outlines various research materials about famed playwright and former Washington University student Tennessee Williams available in University Archives (at West Campus) and in the Manuscripts Unit (at Olin Library).
Last Updated: Nov 1, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/tennessee Print Guide RSS Updates

Tennessee Williams Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Researching Tennesee Williams

This guided features research materials about the famed playwright and former Washington University student Thomas Lanier "Tennessee" Williams. Items are  available to resarchers in University Archives (at West Campus), in the Manuscripts Unit (at Olin Library), and from the circulating books of Olin Library. 

This guide focuses on Williams' connections to the St. Louis area, and is only a starting point for research into a complex topic.

 

Select Readings on Tennessee Williams' Connections to WashU and St. Louis

Cover Art
My Friend Tom - William Jay Smith
Call Number: PS3545.I5365 Z8355
includes "Thomas Lanier Williams, Washington University: St. Louis, 1935-1940"

Cover Art
Tom - Lyle Leverich
Call Number: PS3545 I5365 Z753
The "story of the "unknown" years of the playwright's life, before Tom, the person, was eclipsed by Tennessee, the celebrated persona"

Cover Art
Literary St. Louis - William H. Gass (Editor); Lorin Cuoco (Editor)
Call Number: PS285.S2 L58 2000
Includes "The Region of Good Manners (Tennessee Williams): Midtown" pp. 140 -143

Cover Art
Seeking St. Louis - Lee Ann Sandweiss (Editor)
Call Number: F474.S2 S38 2000
Includes excerpt from Williams’ memoirs about St. Louis and an excerpt from his play, “A Lovely Sunday for Creve Coeur” (pp. 765-784)

Cover Art
Memoirs - Tennessee Williams; John Waters (Introduction by)
Call Number: PS3545.I5365 Z46 1975
ISBN: 0811216691
Publication Date: 2006-10-15
A revealing memoir that includes recollections of growing up in St. Louis. ISBN number and cover image are for the 2006 reprint. The call number is for the first edition in the WUSTL Libraries' holdings.

 

Contact Special Collections


All of Special Collections are open from 8:30am to 5:00pm, Monday through Friday and closed on University Holidays.

General Questions:

Phone: (314) 935-5495
spec@wumail.wustl.edu

Contact a specific area:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip