Research Guides: About WashU Archives: Collections by Subject

Information about Finding Aids

Finding aids are inventories for collections. They include information such as:

Title of collection
Creator of collection
Date ranges of material
Box and folder list of the items in the collection

While collection title are listed in the library catalog, their full descriptions are not. So the best way to search the archive's is to browse the collection guides by sujects, or keyword search the list of all finding aids.

Quick Search for Archival Collections

Search across University Archives, Modern Graphic History Library and Manuscript Unit finding aids:

Advanced Search

Archive Finding Aids by Category

University Publications
includes publications created and distributed by various Washington University departments and offices, and some student organizations.
Papers and Documents from University Administrators and Faculty
personal papers of various chancellors that are not official records from the office of the Chancellor, as well as collections of faculty and administrators personal papers.
Alumni Collections
alumni personal papers and memorabilia
University Records
University Records consist of records created in campus departments and offices. This includes, but is not limited to, department files, chancellor official records, provost records, commencement, photo services, WU Memorabilia.
Student Groups Materials
St. Louis-Related Collections
records of organizations that are not directly affiliated with Washington University, especially documenting St. Louis political, business, social welfare, and architectural history.
Other Subjects