Skip to main content

"Ungezapfte" Web Resources in German Studies / by Brian Vetruba

Presentation for the "How to Stand Out! Insider Research Tips from German Studies Librarians" session at the German Studies Association conference, October 4, 2013

Tap into these Resources for German Studies!

                             

Images from Wikimedia Commons

DigiZeitschriften - Similar to JSTOR; full-text backfiles of 200 German-language scholarly journals in the Humanties, Social Sciences, and Natural Sciences. More info and search tips

Digi20 - a digital collection of 4,704 full text scholarly monographs in Humanities and Social Sciences published by German publishers. Monographs are in copyright! Text mining possible. Can download monographs as PDFs.  More info and search tips

Retrospektive Digitalisierung wissenschaftlicher Rezensionsorgane und Literaturzeitschriften des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts aus dem deutschen Sprachraum - digitized collection of 160 literary journals from the Enlightenment period, roughly 18th and first-half of the 19th century. More info and search tips

BDSL Online (Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft) - an international bibliographical database for German language and literature in German covering all periods from Medieval through 21st century. Guest access: 1985 to 2000; subscriber access: 1985 to present. More info and search tips.

HathiTrust - Digital library of books and journals in multiple languages covering all subjects and disciplines. Includes +10.8 million volumes total with +3.4 million in public domain with full text. Public domain volumes can be viewed and downloaded. More info and search tips.

Europeana - Portal to +20 million digital items from +1,500 European archives, libraries, museums from 32 countries. In mutliple languages, the portal includes links to texts (books, newspapers, etc.), images (works of arts, maps, etc.), video (film, TV broadcasts, etc.), and sound (music, radio broadcasts). More info and search tips.

   

JUST ANNOUNCED-- 70,000 des 17. Jahrhunderts -- VD17

70.000 Drucke des 17. Jahrhunderts online!

Antje Dauer Pressestelle
Herzog August Bibliothek

Dank der richtungsweisenden Förderung der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) konnte bereits ein großer Teil von den rund 300.000 im Verzeichnis der im deutschen Sprachraum erschienenen Drucke des 17. Jahrhunderts (VD 17) digitalisiert werden. Damit stehen heute bedeutende Teile unseres kulturellen Erbes mit Werken aus der Philosophie, Medizin, Recht und Theologie oder herausragende literarische Werke von Opitz, Gryphius oder Grimmelshausen jedem Interessierten online frei unter www.vd17.de zur Verfügung.

FULL PRESS RELEASE FROM THE HERZOG AUGUST BIBLIOTHEK