Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Brown School Library

Location: Brown Hall, 3rd Floor.

Serving the research and teaching needs of the Brown School community in social work, public health, and social policy. All are welcomed and appreciated!

Brown School Library Faculty Collection 

At Brown School, we have faculty that produce ground-breaking, field-defining work. In our library we have a dedicated section of these works for easy access.

See the complete list of titles we hold in the Brown School Library Faculty Collection and to access those titles we have available electronically. 

Suggestions and Comments
If you have any suggestions for additions or comments, please feel free to submit them to the Library Director.

Congratulations to our 2021-2022 Published Faculty Authors! 
Please take a moment to see the ground-breaking, field-defining work our faculty published over the past year listed below. You can see our whole Brown School Faculty Collection here

Title Year Faculty Author(s)
"Asset building: Towards inclusive policy" in Encyclopedia of Social Work 2021 Michael Sherraden
(Multiple Chapters) in The Future of Building Wealth 2021 Michael Sherraden, Margaret S. Sherraden, Jin Huang, Stephen Roll, Michal Grinstein-Weiss
The New Addiction Treatment: From Good Intentions and Bad Intuitions to Data, Performance, and Technology 2021 David Patterson Silver Wolf
"The random factor: Chance, luck, and the American dream" in Routledge Handbook on the American Dream, Volume 1 2021 Mark Rank
"Network analysis: The social bridge to health" in The SAGE Handbook of Social Studies in Health and Medicine 2021 Douglas Luke
Cancer Navigation: Charting the Path Forward for Low Income Women of Color 2022 Vetta L. Sanders Thompson
(Multiple Chapters) in Child Behavioral Health in Sub-Saharan Africa: Towards Evidence Generation and Policy Development 2022 Fred Ssewamala, Sensoy Bahar, Mary McKay, Lindsay Stark, Ilana Seff, Lora Iannotti
"A structural vulnerability understanding of poverty" in On Inequality and Freedom 2022 Mark Rank
"Sexual violence as a practice of war: Implications for the investigation and prosecution of atrocity crimes" in Oxford Handbook on Atrocity Crimes 2022 Kim Thuy Seelinger
"Case study from Latin America: Understanding the relationship between the built environment and physical activity in Latin American contacts" in Physical Activity in Low-and Middle-Income Countries 2022 Eugen Resendiz Bontrud (PhD student), Deborah Salvo
"Food insecurity, black churches, and black household vulnerabilities during COVID-19" in Racialized health, COVID-19, and religious responses: Black Atlantic contexts and perspectives 2022 Von Nebbitt

 

Congratulations to our 2020-2021 Published Faculty Authors! 
Please take a moment to see the ground-breaking, field-defining work our faculty published over the past year listed below. You can see our whole Brown School Faculty Collection here

Title Year Faculty Author(s)
Stereotypes of African Americans. In Nadler, JT and Voyles, EC (Eds.), Stereotypes: The Incidence and Impacts of Bias.
2020 Sheretta Butler-Barnes
Research Methods for Public Health.
2021 Amy Eyler
Disproportionate Need as a Factor Explaining Racial Disproportionality in the CW System. In A. Detlaff (Ed). Racial Disproportionality and Disparities in the Child Welfare System.  
2020 Brett Drake and Melissa Jonson-Reid
A Deeper Look: Stunting. In Jones-Smith, J. (Ed.), Public Health Nutrition: Essentials for Practitioners.
2020 Lora Iannotti
Poorly Understood: What America Gets Wrong About Poverty 
2021 Mark Rank
Confronting Poverty: Economic Hardship in the United States 
2021 Mark Rank
Children and Adolescents in Conflict and Displacement. In Song, S. J., & Ventevogel, P. (Eds.), Child, Adolescent and Family Refugee Mental Health: A Global Perspective.
2020 Lindsay Stark
Ethical and Methodological Considerations for Researching Children Exposed to Political Violence. In Greenbaum, C. W. (Ed.), Handbook of Political Violence and Children: Psychosocial Effects, Intervention, and Prevention Policy 
2020 Lindsay Stark
President on Trial: Prosecuting Hissene Habre 
2020 Kim Thuy Seelinger
Securing Improved Cooperation. In Steinberg, R. H. (Ed.), International Criminal Court: Contemporary Challenges and Reform Proposals 
2020 Kim Thuy Seelinger

Inclusive Child Development Accounts: Toward Universality and Inclusivity

2020 Jin Huang, Michael Sherraden (editors) and book chapters by Michal Grinstein-Weiss, Proscovia Nabunya, Stephen Roll, Fred Ssewamala

Complex Systems Science. In Dankwa-Mullan, Irene (Ed.) et.al., The Science of Health Disparities Research

2021 Ross Hammond

 

Congratulations to our 2019-2020 Published Faculty Authors! 

Please take a moment to see the ground-breaking, field-defining work our faculty published over the past year listed below. You can see our whole Brown School Faculty Collection here

Title Year Faculty Author Print or eBook
Advancing the Science of Implementation across the Cancer Continuum 2018 Peg Allen;  Ross Brownson; Todd Combs; Douglas Luke; Byron Powell; Rachel Tabak

eBook

Foundations of Physical Activity and Public Health 2nd edition 2020 Deborah Salvo print
Grand Challenges for Social Work and Society 2019 Tonya Edmond; Michal Grinstein-Weiss; Nancy Morrow-Howell; Mark R. Rank; Margaret Sherraden print & eBook
Handbook of Health Social Work 3rd edition 2019 Wendy Auslander; Byron Powell eBook
Inclusive Child Development Accounts 2020 Michal Grinstein-Weiss; Jin Huang; Proscovia NabunyaStephen P. Roll; Michael Sherraden; Fred Ssewamala; Li Zou print
Multilevel Modeling 2nd edition 2020 Douglas Luke print
Physical Activity and Public Health Practice 2019 Amy Eyler eBook
Re-visioning Public Health approaches for Protecting Children 2019 Melissa Jonson-Reid eBook
Rugged Individualism and the Misunderstanding of American Inequality 2020 Mark Rank eBook
Social Work Practice with Survivors of Sex Trafficking and Commercial Sexual Exploitation 2018 Tonya Edmond eBook
Statistics with R: solving problems using real world data 2020 Jenine Harris print
Toward a Livable Life: a 21st century agenda for social work 2020

Wendy F. Auslander, Ana A. Baumann,
Derek S. Brown, F. Brett Drake, Amy Eyler, Vanessa Fabbre, Patrick J. Fowler, 
Eleni Gaveras, Janelle Gibson,
Michal Grinstein-Weiss, Jenine K. Harris,
Darrell Hudson, Kim J. Johnson,
Melissa Jonson-Reid, Shanti K. Khinduka,
Patricia L. Kohl, Matthew W. Kreuter,
Edward F. Lawlor, Carolyn Lesorogol, 
Gena Gunn McClenden, Mary M. McKay,
Molly Metzger, Nancy Morrow-Howell, 
Sojung Park, David Patterson Silver Wolf,
Mark R. Rank, Rodrigo Reis, Stephen Roll,
Barry Rosenberg, Anna Shabsin,
Joseph Steensma, Rachel G. Tabak, 
Vetta Sanders Thompson

eBook
"Policy and Environmental Supports for Physical Activity and Active Living" in Lifestyle Medicine 2019 Beth Dodson eBook