Research Guides: Oral History Collection: Transgender Spectrum Conference: About the collection

About

Transgender Spectrum Conference Oral History Collection (WUA00519)

In November 2019, five attendees of the Transgender Spectrum Conference recorded oral histories reflecting on their stories as trans individuals. The conference planners worked with the Washington University Department of Special Collections to organize this project. Inspired by similar projects such as Tretter Transgender Oral History Project, https://www.lib.umn.edu/tretter/transgender-oral-history-project and the NYC Trans Oral History Project, https://www.nyctransoralhistory.org/, the project's goals were to preserve trans stories and experiences from the middle of America (areas commonly labeled Midwest, Plains, mid-South), and prioritize the experiences of trans communities that remain marginalized even in the wake of growing mainstream trans visibility. An open call was made to all attendees and five individuals selected to participate in the project. Interviews were conducted by the Curator of Local History, and a conference volunteer.

The Transgender Spectrum Conference, first held in 2013 "was community-based and overseen by a board comprised of community members and people with professional interest in gender equity." The 2019 conference was hosted by Washington University at the Brown School of Social Work on November 8 and 9, 2019. Although organizers hoped to make the oral history component a regular part of the conference program for future years, as of October 2021 it was uncertain if the conference would continue.

Conditions Governing Use

Providing access to materials does not constitute permission to publish or otherwise authorize use. All publication not covered by fair use or other exceptions is restricted to those who have permission of the copyright holder, which may or may not be Washington University. If you wish to publish or license Special Collections materials, please contact Special Collections to inquire about copyright status at (314) 935-5495 or spec@wumail.wustl.edu.

Arrangement

The collection is ordered chronologically.

For more information see archived conference website
https://wayback.archive-it.org/7608/*/https://sites.wustl.edu/transgenderspectrumconference/

Oral Histories

Each link below opens a folder with audio file and a typed transcript. Users are provided access to these recordings and transcripts for educational or personal use only. They may not be reposted without permission (although sharing links is certainly encouraged). For further questions about copyright, usage, or to access recordings not available online, please contact spec@wumail.wustl.edu

Kelli J. Wood
Kelli (she/hers) was born in 1994 in Paragould, Arkansas. Now living in Springfield, Missouri she is working on her masters degree in health administration. In this oral history Kelli discusses her family, working for the Aids Project of the Ozarks (APO), reflections on transitioning, religion, and her experiences traveling to Europe and Nicaragua.
more...less...
Access: available online
Date: November 8, 2019 10:45 am
ID: LH2019-009-001
India Reid and Destiny Reid
India (she/hers) was born in 1987 in Centerville, Illinois. In this oral history India discusses her work with the city of St. Louis to secure housing and social services for trans women in need and how she became involved with MTUG. She offers a powerful testimony living as an African American trans woman, about overcoming trauma and violence, living life as U=U, and discusses how she became a drag performer in the House of Principle. Towards the end of the interview she discusses with Destiny, her teenage daughter, some family history and her transition.
more...less...
ID: LH2019-009-002
Access: During the interviewees' lifetime WU Library will only share a description of the interview online (names, topics, date of interview), but not the whole interview. Researchers interested in accessing this oral history should contact Special Collections.
Date: November 8, 2019 3:45 pm
Terry Lee Willits
Terry (he/him) was born in Cedar Rapids, Iowa in 1964. Now living in St. Louis, in this interview Terry discusses his decision to transition at age 53, focusing on his experiences with surgery, therapy, voice work, and medical care. He also discusses volunteering at MTUG (Metro Trans Umbrella Group), and reflects on relationships with partners.
more...less...
ID: LH2019-009-003
Access: available online
Date: November 9, 2019 10:30 am
Elliot Laurence
Elliot (he/him) was born in 1998 in St. Louis county, Missouri. Currently he is completing an undergraduate degree in English at Webster University, Webster Groves, Missouri, and serving as an Air Force reservist. In this oral history Elliot discusses growing up in Wentzville, Missouri, his transition while both in the military and attending college, his passion for writing, and relationships with friends and family.
more...less...
ID: LH2019-009-004
Access: available online
Date: November 9, 2019 11:45 am
Scott Xavier Fieke
Scott Xavier Fieke (they / he) is an intersex, two-spirit, queer, transgender man who moved to Davenport, Iowa recently with his partner. Born in Kansas City, Kansas in 1959, in the oral history Scott discusses his childhood, the struggles of his father's mental illness, and as an intersex person the traumas caused to them by medical professions. Scott discusses his career as a teacher, and his decision to get degrees in guidance and counseling from Southwest Missouri State in Springfield. Scott offers a reflection on the difficulties faced transitioning while working at a religious-based mental health agency in Kansas City, and the happiness of meeting his current partner online. At the end of the interview Scott reflects on their life together and their relationships with religion, including the Catholic church and MCC (Metropolitan Community Church) of Quad Cities.
more...less...
ID: LH2019-009-005
Access: available online
Date: November 9, 2019 1:00 pm

About the finding aid

Finding aid published: October 2021

Finding aid author: Miranda Rectenwald