A Guide to American Culture Studies

the most authoritative, current reference work on American cuisine. In over 1,400 entries, this book reflects the many changes in American food consciousness during the 21st century. Once a niche market, food television has become ubiquitous, as are websites devoted to all sorts of regional cuisines. Ethnic foods and the fusion of these have led to new crazes for such cuisines as Southwestern sushi and Filipino hamburgers. Includes these timely trends and topics and other subjects plus food traditions of major American cities. All bibliographies have been updating as of 2013.

addresses the complexity--and richness--of both ethnicity and food in America today. Entries are organized alphabetically by nation and present the background and history of each food culture along with explorations of the place of that food in mainstream American society today. Many of the entries draw upon ethnographic research and personal experience, giving insights into the meanings of various ethnic food traditions as well as into what, how, and why people of different ethnicities are actually eating today. The entries look at foodways--the network of activities surrounding food itself--as well as the beliefs and aesthetics surrounding that food, and the changes that have occurred over time and place. They also address stereotypes of that food culture and the culture's influence on American eating habits and menus, describing foodways practices in both private and public contexts, such as restaurants, groceries, social organizations, and the contemporary world of culinary arts. Recipes of representative or iconic dishes are included.

examines over 100 American regional foods that are unique to the United States as well as dishes found only in specific American regions and individual states. Written by an established food scholar.

This medal-winning reference work presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Students, academics and general researchers will find entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines.

more than 250 entries spanning geographic and temporal contexts and features recent discoveries alongside the results of decades of research. Serves as a reference for scholars and students in archaeology, food studies, and related disciplines, as well as fascinating reading for culinary historians, food writers, and food and archaeology enthusiasts.

from one of the world's greatest authorities on the history and use of food and foodstuffs the world over with additional articles by over 50 specialist authors from as far afield as the Philippines, Norway, and Australia. 2,650 entries over plus 40 feature articles highlighting staple foods of the world exquisite. Extensive bibliography the most wide-ranging coverage ever of foods and food products and how to use them, ranging from classical Greek and Roman, Inca, and Moghul cuisine to Parsi food and Jewish cookery, Cambodia, and Celtic culinary terms

From apple pie to baklava, cannoli to gulab jamun, this encyclopedia provides a comprehensive look at global dessert culture, surveys nearly 100 countries, examining their characteristic sweet treats from an anthropological perspective. It offers historical context and emphasizes the cross-cultural insights. Entries are organized by country and region describe cultural attributes of local desserts, how and when sweets are enjoyed, and any ingredients that are iconic. Several popular desserts are discussed within each entry including information on their history, their importance, and regional/cultural variations on preparation. An appendix of recipes provides instructions on how to make many of the dishes.

Among the major themes addressed throughout this new edition are:

* Traditional and modern methods of food production and their influences on food quality
* The great diversity of methods by which people in different places and times have prepared the same ingredients
* Tips for selecting the best ingredients and preparing them successfully
* The particular substances that give foods their flavors and that give us pleasure
* Our evolving knowledge of the health benefits and risks of foods

designed for academic and professional users -- from advanced high school students and undergraduates to professors, journalists, and business people -- as well as public library patrons. Showcases the work of an international body of prominent scholars, who offer accessible, original, and authoritative analysis of all aspects of the history and culture of China since 1800. Provides critical information on the most populous country and most dynamic trade market in the world.

This book offers for the first time a comprehensive study of South Asia (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, & the Maldives). The international team of contributors presents a work richly illustrated with many photographs, maps, & tables closely interwoven with the text.

survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. Includes more than 600 entries

Pakistani history, people, places, culture, heritage, politics, economics and much more. A distinctive group of 113 scholars and writers have contributed clear, concise, in-depth and scholarly entries on all aspects of the country. This book contains more than 1,000 entries in addition to fifteen feature essays.

This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on Asian Americans. Addresses a broad range of topics on various Asian and Pacific Islander American groups from 1848 to the present day. Written by leading scholars in their fields of expertise and authorities in diverse professions.

more than 900 signed entries not just providing a compilation of specific ethnic groups and their histories but also covering the full spectrum of issues flowing from the increasingly multicultural canvas that is America today. Pedagogical elements include an introduction, a thematic reader's guide, a chronology of multicultural milestones, a glossary, a resource guide to key books, journals, and Internet sites, and an appendix of 2010 U.S. Census Data. 100 videos (with transcripts) from Getty Images and Video Vault, the Agence France Press, and Sky News, as reviewed by the media librarian of the Rutgers University Libraries.

Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Useful entries include "Inequality: India," "Imperialism: Asia," "Indians, American and Asian," "Model Minorities," "Nationalism and Ethnicity: Asia," and "United States."

The Encyclopedia is the first comprehensive guide to the history of Japanese immigrants in the western hemisphere over the last two centuries. Each chapter provides four primary areas of information: An historical overview, a bibliographic essay, an annotated bibliography, and supplementary materials including demographic data, and rare historical photographs. Contributing authors address common themes of work and recreation, family and community life.

also includes an enlightening overview by noted Asian American studies scholar Gary Okihiro, a detailed chronology of major events in Japanese American history, and an extensive bibliography of the best sources for further research.

St. Louis' longest, continually published daily newspaper

text only; not the easiest interface to use. Ask a librarian for assistance if you need it.

St. Louis' longest-running African American newspaper