Jennifer Akins
Miranda Rectenwald
Artstor
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowCollection of nearly 2 million images, documenting artistic traditions across many times and cultures. Embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, Myron Goldsmith, designer. 1968-1970, Image: 1969. Chicago Transit Authority (CTA) Dan Ryan Red Line, exterior, platform. Artstor.
Background research on objects
For an overview and history of an object, try searching encyclopedias and books.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
- Oxford Reference Online (5 users) This link opens in a new windowContains almost 200 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes over 50,000 additional in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus all 20,000 quotations from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
BOOKS
- WorldCat (FirstSearch interface) This link opens in a new windowInformation about books, journal titles, videos, and materials in other formats owned by more than 15,000 U.S. and foreign libraries. DOES NOT INCLUDE JOURNAL ARTICLES.
Newspapers
HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS - page scans
- Saint Louis Post-Dispatch (1874 - 2003) This link opens in a new windowContains full text of the newspaper St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1874-2003 including its title variants. Learn more about this database
April 2, 2000 (page 10 of 702). (2000, Apr 02). St.Louis Post-Dispatch (1923-2003) Retrieved from http://libproxy.wustl.edu/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/1905051840?accountid=15159
- New York Times, Historical (1851-3 year ago) This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Learn more about this database
WUSTL Archives
- St. Louis Car Company guideThis collection has are a wealth of information for anyone interested in the history of transportation, especially trolleys, busses, and interurban railway cars. This guide provides sugestions for locating and using this information
Periodicals, Magazines Articles
MAGAZINE AND JOURNAL ARTICLES
A selection of design and social science databases that index journal and magazine literature. To find databases by discipline. See the A-Z Database list and search by subject.
- Design & Applied Arts Index (1973 - ) This link opens in a new windowJournal Index. Indexes design and craft journals and newspapers and contains more than 212,000 records, with around 1,200 new records added in each monthly update. Learn more about this database
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 publications, with over 7,850 peer-reviewed. Abstracts and indexing available for over 13,780 journals in the collection.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, plus extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources. Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Access provided by the Brown School Library.
- PsycInfo (now APA PsycInfo) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields. Indexed materials are international in scope selected from psychology and related journals published globally in over 25 languages.