OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS
You can log into the proxy by following this link: Log into EZproxy
WU Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Jennifer Akins, Subject Librarian for Art + Architecture
ILLiad, Interlibrary Loan during COVID-19
- ILLiadRequest research materials not owned by WU Libraries
There is limited Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) at this time. You can try to request article and book chapter scans (New Request > Article/Book Chapter), which hopefully we can fill. Don't hesitate to reach out if you would like help finding alternative sources.
Architecture Reference
- Oxford Reference Online (5 users) This link opens in a new windowContains almost 200 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes over 50,000 additional in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus all 20,000 quotations from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
- Oxford Art Online (8 users) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and authoritative guide with extensive surveys and in-depth articles on the history of art; provides links to museums, galleries, and art collections around the world, as well as images. Available through this site are Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Architectural Graphic Standards by
The gold-standard design and documentation reference for students Architectural Graphic Standards, Student Edition condenses key information from the definitive industry reference to provide students with a powerful learning resource. Covering design and documentation for a variety of projects, this book offers extensive visuals backed by expert discussion to prepare students for work in a modern professional practice. This new 12th edition has been significantly updated to provide the latest information on important architectural developments and movements, with detailed coverage of sustainability, economy, technology, and more alongside current building standards and best practices. The companion website features sample curricula, student exercises, and classroom projects to aid the understanding of developing designers, and links to additional resources include professional associations, manufacturers' websites, and architectural articles to help students stay up-to-date as the field continues to evolve. Architectural Graphic Standards is the gold-standard reference for practicing architects, engineers, and builders; this Student Edition introduces key elements in a way that's relevant to the budding designer, along with ancillary materials that facilitate internalization. Delve into the design and documentation process for building materials and elements, as used in today's real-world practice Discover the latest advances in sustainability, digital fabrication, building information modeling, and more Learn the building standards and best practices for a wide variety of architectural details Examine thousands of illustrations, richly detailed graphics, PowerPoint slides, and links to additional resources Simply "knowing" graphic and documentation standards is not enough; future architects and engineers must develop an instinctual understanding and reflexive use of much of this material. Architectural Graphic Standards, Student Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage they need, and the expert guidance that will help them succeed.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781119312512Publication Date: 2017-04-18
Manual of Section by
Along with plan and elevation, section is one of the essential representational techniques of architectural design; among architects and educators, debates about a project's section are common and often intense. Until now, however, there has been no framework to describe or evaluate it. Manual of Section fills this void. Paul Lewis, Marc Tsurumaki, and David J. Lewis have developed seven categories of section, revealed in structures ranging from simple one-story buildings to complex structures featuring stacked forms, fantastical shapes, internal holes, inclines, sheared planes, nested forms, or combinations thereof. To illustrate these categories, the authors construct sixty-three intricately detailed cross-section perspective drawings of built projects--many of the most significant structures in international architecture from the last one hundred years--based on extensive archival research. Manual of Section also includes smart and accessible essays on the history and uses of section.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781616895556Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Architecture databases
- El Croquis Digital LibraryElectronic issues of El Croquis from 2001 (no. 104) to present. Print issues continue are still available at the Kranzberg Art & Architecture Library.
- Detail Inspiration This link opens in a new windowDETAIL online (selected projects) ! Full text photos, drawings and technical information of selected projects from 30 years of DETAIL print magazine. Updated monthly.
- Fire Insurance Maps online (FIMo) This link opens in a new windowA research portal to find and view high-definition, color Fire Insurance Maps, Real Estate Atlases, Plat Books, and other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information. This subscription includes Illinois and Missouri. Learn more about this database
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowImage database. Register for free account to download images. The Avery/GSAPP Architectural Plans and Sections (Columbia University) include 20,000 images: https://library-artstor-org.libproxy.wustl.edu/#/category/10374058883.
- OnArchitecture This link opens in a new windowAn online audiovisual service, featuring original videos (interviews, buildings and installations) and a selection of complementary material -documents and audiovisuals- about the main authors and figures of contemporary architecture.
- A&AePortal (A and AePortal) Art & architecture ePortal This link opens in a new windowArt and architecture eBooks from ten significant university and museum publishers, including the Art Institute of Chicago, Harvard University Press, MIT Press, Princeton University Press and Yale University Art Gallery.
- Project MUSE Premium collection This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.
Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together.
Some Full Text
If no full text, try to request articles via ILLiad (use the Get It! button or request manually: New Request > Article).
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1934-) This link opens in a new windowJournal index covers more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Learn more about this database
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 publications, with over 7,850 peer-reviewed. Abstracts and indexing available for over 13,780 journals in the collection.
- Architecture - Article DatabasesFull list of recommended architecture databases in the Architecture Research Guide.
Ebook Collections - Expanded and Existing
Ebook collections
In addition to existing ebook collections, some publishers and databases have expanded content during COVID-19. Reach out if you need help!
Finding eBooks in WU catalog
To search for eBooks in the WU Catalog:
- Go to Advanced Search
- Enter search terms
- Location: An internet resource
Newspaper databases - full text
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
- New York Times, Historical (1851-3 year ago) This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Learn more about this database
- Saint Louis Post-Dispatch (1874 - 2003) This link opens in a new windowContains full text of the newspaper St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1874-2003 including its title variants. Learn more about this database
- PressReader (3 users) This link opens in a new windowFull-color, full-page collection of today's newspapers from around the world, providing instant access to 1000+ newspapers from 82 countries in 39 languages. For most papers, only the most current 60 days are available. Learn more about this database