Abbreviations for Journals, Reference Works, etc.
The abbreviations of journal titles in classical studies and related fields found in the Oxford Classical Dictionary and L'Anne philologique are widely used. For abbreviations not found in these sources, check Wellington's Dictionary of bibliographic abbreviations. For archaeological periodicals see the abbreviations used by the American journal of archaeology.
- Liste des périodiques dépouillés [PDF]List of all the journals examined for L'Année philologiquewith abbreviations
- Abbreviations for the American Journal for Archaeology (AJA)Abbreviations used in articles published in the AJA and used in many other publications
- Dictionary of bibliographic abbreviations found in the scholarship of classical studies and related disciplines / compiled by Jean Susorney WellingtonWestport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1983
Olin Reference PA99 W44 1983 - Serial Guide: Classics, Ancient Near East, Medieval Latin and ByzantineSearchable databases of titles and abbreviations of journals subscribed to by the University of Chicago Libraries.
- All That JAS: Journal Abbreviation SourcesFor journal abbreviations in other disciplines.
Roman Forum
Roman forum, 2008.
Archaeology - Mediterranean Resources
- Oxford Reference Online (5 users) This link opens in a new windowContains almost 200 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes over 50,000 additional in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus all 20,000 quotations from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics This link opens in a new windowExpert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Includes key primary source texts and critical literature that highlights new discoveries, interpretations, and theories in the field of Classical Studies.
- Oxford Art Online (8 users) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and authoritative guide with extensive surveys and in-depth articles on the history of art; provides links to museums, galleries, and art collections around the world, as well as images. Available through this site are Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & ArchitectureThe most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the over four thousand year Classical period with more than 1,000 entries on art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, works of art, and archaeological sites.
- Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and RomeComprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient EgyptFull text of over 600 entries covering the architecture, works of art, cultural significance, religion, and artistic developments of this 5,000-year civilization.
- Oxford Companion to ArchaeologyOver 700 articles related to the archaeological traditions of western and non-western cultures.
- Oxford Classical DictionaryProvides coverage on all aspects the Graeco-Roman wolrd, including of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowComplete texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Volumes are grouped into topics enabling browsing by historical subject areas and includes extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative ArtsContains over 3,000 articles of decorative arts production in western and non-western cultures over thousands of years. The historic uses of diverse materials are included, art forms and styles defined, and the history of decorative arts are discussed.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch interface) This link opens in a new windowInformation about books, journal titles, videos, and materials in other formats owned by more than 15,000 U.S. and foreign libraries. DOES NOT INCLUDE JOURNAL ARTICLES.
- Archäologische Bibliographie (via Projekt Dyabola) (1956-) This link opens in a new windowA major bibliographical database for classical archaeology based on the catalog of the German Archaeological Institute. Indexes journal articles, monographs, and conference proceedings on Greco-Roman antiquity and related areas in all major European languages. Searchable in English, German, French, and Italian. Note: on the first page, click the checkbox in front of 'IP access' and then click Start; it opens a new window. Click the British flag to search in English.
- L'Année Philologique Online (1924-) This link opens in a new windowAnnual index of scholarly works relating to every aspect of Greek and Roman civilization, including the auxiliary disciplines of archaeology, epigraphy, numismatics, papyrology and paleography.
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 publications, with over 7,850 peer-reviewed. Abstracts and indexing available for over 13,780 journals in the collection.
- Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) This link opens in a new windowJournal index of over 600 major art and architecture periodicals .
- Art Full Text (1984-) This link opens in a new windowArticles from major art and architecture periodicals, with an emphasis on those in English. Includes a total of 378 periodicals with the full text of 93 journals back to January 1997. Updated monthly.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles and essays in anthropology and archaeology, from works published in English and other European languages, 19th century to present. Contains both Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, UK.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowBrings 100 years of anthropological material online, including current issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association's most critical peer-reviewed publications, an electronic archive of all AAA journals, holdings information, and seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications.
- American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 and 2 This link opens in a new windowTwo series of monographs that provide access to more than 29,000 titles—or more than 10 million pages—focused on religion and theology. Series 1 contains titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions.
The abbreviations of journal titles in classical studies and related fields found in the Oxford Classical Dictionary andL'Anne philologique are widely used. For abbreviations not found in these sources, check Wellington's Dictionary of bibliographic abbreviations. For archaeological periodicals see the abbreviations used by the American journal of archaeology.
Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines by Call Number: Olin Library Reference PA99 W44 1983ISBN: 0313235236Publication Date: 1983-03-29Product information not available.
- Body Images in the Ancient Americas - Wiki.eduIn this seminar, students will examine how the human body was understood, manipulated, and represented in a variety of ancient American cultures, including the Olmec, Maya, Aztec, Moche, and Inka. Through analysis of various arts (stone sculpture, ceramics, murals, metalwork, textiles, etc.) and archaeological evidence, we will explore the physical body as locus for culturally specific ideals, political ideologies, and the maintenance of social order. Each student will making a minimum of 2 edits to wikipedia pages related to course content. All edits will be supported by scholarly citations.