Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Ask your subject librarian for questions about appropriate use of our electronic resources, including text and data mining.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
American History 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
Trial

This unique collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History.  Please note that PDF download options are not available during trials.  This trial expires March 14, 2024.  Please provide your feedback to Michael Schaefer.

Economist This link opens in a new window
New

Global reporting and analysis on economics, business, geopolitics, technology, and culture. Click "more" below for login/account creation instructions.
 

Trial
This diverse collection offers a glimpse into what shaped modern policy and legislation in the areas of conservation and environmental protection in the United States. Includes the work of individual movers and shakers, such as early environmentalists George Bird Grinnell and “father of forestry” Joseph Trimble Rothrock, as well as later activists like Rosalie Edge and Velma “Wild Horse Annie” Johnston. Sift through the records of agencies such as the U.S. Forest Service and the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation, as well as the many departments focused on conservation and land-use matters, from water conservation to wildlife management, at both the state and municipal levels. NOTE: This trial ends March 4. Please provide your feedback to Clara McLeod.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) FT.com

Current content of Financial Times (FT) daily newspaper. Includes full-page display (ePaper) of USA, UK, European, Asian and Middle East editions. Users will be asked to re-authenticate twice a year and may receive an email from the Financial Times requesting this. Click more below for instructions on creating a Financial Times account with your @wustl.edu email.

New
The North-China Daily News & Herald, Limited was the most important and largest British-founded press agency in Shanghai in the 1800s. The company published a number of Chinese and English newspapers, which recorded in detail the social events over a century in modern China, and interpreted the tortuous historical development from different perspectives. On the basis of the abundant resources of Shanghai Library, the editorial department of CNBKSY has made all-out efforts over the past five years to build The North-China Daily News & Herald Newspapers and Hong Lists(1850~1951). The database has a comprehensive coverage of the English and Chinese newspapers of The North-China Herald《北华捷报》, The North-China Daily News《字林西报》, The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser《上海新报》, Hu Bao《沪报》, Han Bao《汉报》, Xiao Xian Bao《消闲报》, and The North-China Desk Hong List《字林西报行名录》published by the company. As an important part of the historical archives, the database not only vividly revealed the history, but also enriches the digital newspaper resources, providing valuable materials for the study of modern China.
The Times of India This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Times of India
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...