A cross-searchable digital hub which brings Bloomsbury’s leading visual arts resources together onto one platform to support an interdisciplinary approach to studies, teaching and research. Its collections have been designed to fit together seamlessly so that access to any combination of them provides a rich experience for users of all levels. They span textbooks, reference, primary material, monographs and multimedia to offer a diverse, engaging and authoritative study and research environment.
Digitized in two parts from the FO 17 series of British Foreign Office Files held at the UK National Archives, Part 1 of Imperial China and the West provides General Correspondence relating to China from 1815–1881; and Part II is from 1865-1905. Here, scholars will find material relating to the internal politics of China and Britain, their relationship, and the relationships between other Western powers keen to benefit from the growing trading ports of the Far East. The FO 17 series provides a vast and significant resource for researching every aspect of China-West relations during the nineteenth century, ranging from diplomacy and war, to trade, piracy, riots and rebellions within China, international law, treaty ports and informal empire, transnational emigration, and translation and cross-cultural communication.
Provides access to more than sixty Brazilian movie magazines, from the earliest ones published in the 1910s to later magazines covering the 1960s and early ‘70s. Includes fan magazines, trade magazines, and Cinema Novo magazines.
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies, and related fields. Includes coverage of over 1,000 core titles and features full-text for more than 600 active periodicals.
Scanned at the Cinemateca de Cuba in Havana, Cuba, this collection documents the history and development of Cuban cinema from the Silent Era to the Revolution. It offers unique access to unpublished photographs, newspaper clippings, lobby cards, yearbooks, and a complete run of the weekly magazine Cinema (1935–1965), an obligatory starting point for any research on early Cuban cinema.
Alternate Name(s):Enzyklopädie jüdischer Geschichte und Kultur
From Europe to America to the Middle East, North Africa and other non-European Jewish settlement areas the Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture covers the recent history of the Jews from 1750 until the 1950s. Translated from German into English, approximately 800 keywords present the current state of international research and depict a complex portrait of Jewish life - illustrated by many maps and images. About 40 key articles convey central themes on topics like autonomy, exile, emancipation, literature, liturgy, music or the science of Judaism.
Provides access to searchable news sources from the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung back to 1949. The Library Portal includes access to the following sources: Zeitung für Deutschland, Sonntagszeitung, FAZ.net, Woche, Magazin, Quarterly, Metropol, and Einspruch.
Provides 16,000+ videos illustrating key concepts, research techniques and experiments across multiple science disciplines.
JoVE Unlimited access includes:
● JoVE Journal: Peer-reviewed journal with articles published in video and text format.
● JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments: Video encyclopedia of advanced research experiments.
● JoVE Science Education: A library of videos that illustrate research methods, concept application, and real-world examples.
● JoVE Lab Manual: Curriculum-focused video resources for commonly taught introductory labs with step-by-step instructions.
● JoVE Core: Video textbooks that bring introductory concepts and methods to life.
● JoVE Book: Digital book that explains scientific concepts and practices through video demonstrations, supplemented with in-depth text explanations and practice quizzes.
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 150 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
Covers more than 55,000 museums in 202 countries, listed hierarchically by country and place, and within places alphabetically by name. A separate chapter records some 500 museum associations in 132 countries. Each museum has been assigned to one or more of 22 categories identifying the type and focus of the museum.
Alternate Name(s):Papers of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People
NAACP Papers collections contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. With a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, the NAACP Papers document the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond. Learn more about this database.
The platform contains two full-text databases of books and periodicals of modern China: 1) Chinese Periodical of Modern China, in specific, The Late Qing Dynasty Periodical 1816-1911 晚清期刊全文数据库 1816-1911 and Chinese Periodical 1911-1949 中文期刊全文数据库 1911-1949; 2) Books of Modern China 1840-1949 中国近代图书全文数据库 1840-1949.
To search a database, click the database icon and the “Use” button.
Oxford Bibliographies in Communication provides the necessary guidance to students and scholars study of communication. The extensive and ever-changing nature of communication includes multiple epistemologies, methodologies, and overlapping domains. This bibliography includes recent scholarship, research, and statistics.
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Communication combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing. The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Communication is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers.
RetroNews, the press site of the National Library of France, provides free and open access to more than 2000 press titles published between 1631 and 1950. In addition to the resources present on Gallica, RetroNews is both a digital space for consulting archives, a research tool and a magazine for everyone to discover history through press archives.
The Plantation Records in this module documents the far-reaching impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation. As business owners, the commodities produced by plantation owners—rice, cotton, sugar, tobacco, hemp, and others— accounted for more than half of the nation’s exports. The plantation, therefore, played a key role in the development of a nationwide market economy. Plantation records also document the personal lives of plantation owners and their families.