Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Ask your subject librarian for questions about appropriate use of our electronic resources, including text and data mining.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Economist This link opens in a new window
New

Global reporting and analysis on economics, business, geopolitics, technology, and culture. Click "more" below for login/account creation instructions.
 

New
Click "Archives" tab to filter to this collection. Supports research and teaching across various disciplines, including environmental history, twentieth-century global history, transnational studies, imperial and colonial history, and the regional histories of Africa, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and the Caribbean. Cross-disciplinary themes of sustainability and development, colonial legacies in environmental contexts, and international relations across regions of British imperial and colonial activity give this a broad appeal across subjects that include geography, anthropology, and other social sciences departments.
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings This link opens in a new window
New
Contains materials from cultural studies of music from across the globe. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive and the Ethnomusicology Archive at the University of Washington, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) FT.com

Current content of Financial Times (FT) daily newspaper. Includes full-page display (ePaper) of USA, UK, European, Asian and Middle East editions. Users will be asked to re-authenticate twice a year and may receive an email from the Financial Times requesting this. Click more below for instructions on creating a Financial Times account with your @wustl.edu email.

Trial
A collection of digitized primary sources from the 17th to mid-20th century depicting the histories and cultures of Indigenous Peoples in the United States, Canada, and Mexico. These primary sources include Indigenous, colonial, and governmental perspectives.  Please note that PDF download options are not available during trials.  This trial expires April 15, 2024.  Please provide your feedback to Michael Schaefer.

Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Trial
Indigenous Newspapers in North America presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.  Please note that PDF download options are not available during trials.  This trial expires April 15, 2024.  Please provide your feedback to Michael Schaefer.

Native American Indians, 1645-1819 This link opens in a new window
Trial

The most comprehensive record of Native America in the 17th, 18th and early 19th centuries. More than 1,500 publications offer unparalleled insight into the relationship between Native Americans and European settlers. Features text and data analysis tools, author biographies, and suggested search paths for easy browsing and discovery.  This trial expires April 27, 2024.

Native American Tribal Histories, 1813-1880 This link opens in a new window
Trial

The complete records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs superintendents and most detailed documents available about the encounters between Indigenous people and American Territorial officials.  This trial expires April 27, 2024.

New
The database has a comprehensive coverage of the English and Chinese newspapers of The North-China Herald《北华捷报》(1850-1941), The North-China Daily News《字林西报》(1864-1951), The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser《上海新报》(1862-1872), Hu Bao《沪报》(1882-1908), Han Bao《汉报》(1894-1900), Xiao Xian Bao《消闲报》(1898-1906), and The North-China Desk Hong Lists《字林西报行名录》(1872-1941) published by the company.
Oxford Arabic - English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Trial
The most up-to-date Arabic dictionary on the market. It contains more than 130,000 words and phrases and 200,000 translations. It also helps with verb conjugation and gives tips on how to write the numbers correctly. This trial expires May 1, 2024.

Trial

The history of more than half of America’s states when they were still territories. From the 1760s to the 1950s the United States of America expanded southward and westward, acquiring territories that spanned from Florida to California to Alaska. Before they evolved into twenty-seven American states, these territories were managed by the U.S. State and Interior departments. The official history
of their formative territorial years is recorded in the “Territorial Papers of the United States”—a collection of Native American negotiations and treaties, official correspondence with the federal government, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more.  This trial expires April 27, 2024.

New
The Times Educational Supplement (TES) is one of the most well-regarded primary and secondary education news sources. Founded a handful of years before the onset of World War I, TES became the leading publication on public policy and pedagogical practice over the decades, not only in the United Kingdom but worldwide. The current TES works with 25,000 schools in more than 100 countries and provides innovative services and access to over 900,000 teacher-made resources to help teachers succeed in the classroom.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...