Skip to main content

Brown School Field Instructors Database of Evidence-Based Articles

Brown School Field Instructor Resources

Welcome to the Brown School Field Instructors Database of Evidence-Based Articles
To the left are categories that contain evidence-based articles.  Each article is free to read.  Because some articles have copyright restrictions that do not permit the sharing of the article, please share the LINKS to the articles rather than the articles themselves.

Here are links to the boxes on this Home page.  The links will quickly jump the screen to the boxes of information.
Field Instructor Information for Using the Brown School Library
Brown School Field Instructors Database - Searching Google Scholar
Brown School Field Instructors Database - Other Free Databases
Brown School Field Instructors Database - Getting Articles that Aren't Free on the Internet

Field Instructor Information for Using the Brown School Library

Hours: Field Instructors are welcome to visit the Brown School Library during our daytime hours Monday-Friday

Assistance: ​Feel free to ask a librarian for one-on-one assistance. If you would like to set up a meeting with a librarian, please click the link: https://wustl.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_eW0seuGZNrDA0MR  

Resources: While at the Brown School Library you can search the databases, read full-text articles, and use our paper resources.  You can email full-text articles to yourself or you can bring a USB drive if you prefer to save the article.  

Borrowing: If you would like to check out books from the Brown School Library, please complete the forms at the Field Education Office. Leslie Duling can help you with the forms.  Leslie will notify the Brown School Library to issue a library card.

Leslie Duling McCollam, MSW, MPH
MPH Office of Field Education Program Manager
ofe@wustl.edu
(314) 935-4185

  • The Brown School Library card for field instructors expires one year from the date of issue. 
  • Field Instructors can borrow 2 Brown School Library books from the general book stacks on your library account.
  • Books check out for three weeks and may be renewed if no one has placed a hold.
  • Fines are charged on overdue books (20 cents per day per book) and recalled books (40 cents per day per book).
  • Please bring your Brown School Library card to the library if you wish to check out a book.


Field instructors are welcome to join the Century Club if they wish to check out books from the other WUSTL Danforth/West campus libraries.

Brown School Field Instructors Database - Searching Google Scholar

Searching Google Scholar for Articles
Many Field Instructors search Google Scholar because it is comprehensive and free.  Below are some tips for searching Google Scholar: https://scholar.google.com/
Quick Tips for Using Google Scholar
1. Use the Settings (top of Google Scholar's screen) to choose:

  • Results per page (how many citations do you want to see on a page)
  • Where results open (if you click on an item, do you want it to open in a new tab/window)
  • Bibliography manager (do you use a citation manager program; set the import icon on your screen.  Note: Zotero accepts BibTeX)
  • Languages (you may mark more than one language)

2. To get to the Advanced Search mode, click on the menu icon (top, left).  Then choose Advanced Search.
Menu icon is at top left of screen.

3. With your free account, you can Save the Settings as the default for your account.  Then, you won't have to adjust the settings every time that you search Google Scholar.
4. With your free account, you can set up alerts.  Then, Google will bring results to you when it finds items that match your search criteria.

Brown School Field Instructors Database - Other Free Databases

Other Free Databases to Search
There are many other free databases.   
1. PubMed covers health, mental health, medical social work, hospice, etc.  Has advanced search features and a full-text limiter for articles that are free to read. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/
2. ERIC covers all aspects of education including school social work, counseling, behavioral interventions, etc.  There is a full-text limiter for articles that are free to read.  https://eric.ed.gov/
3. DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals has broad coverage of the social sciences.  There is an Advanced search function.  All of the articles are free to read. https://doaj.org/  
4. Campbell Collaboration provides systematic reviews in the social sciences.  There is an Advanced search function.  Use the Review limiter to see articles that are free to read. https://www.campbellcollaboration.org/library.html

Brown School Field Instructors Database - Getting Articles that Aren't Free on the Internet

How to Get Articles that are Not Freely Available on the Internet
Sometimes your best results are not available to freely read.  Consider the following options:

  • Your local public library may have the article. 
  • Visit a nearby college or university to use the journals / e-journals.  You may need to make an appointment with a librarian.  Brown School field instructors are welcome to use the Brown School Library's journal / e-journal collections.
  • Request the article from your local public library.  Many public libraries have some free interlibrary loan services for their affiliated patrons.