Skip to main content

Brian Vetruba, Subject Librarian

I'm the Subject Librarian for Germanic Languages and Literatures, Comparative Literature, European Studies, and the Interdisciplinary Project in the Humanities

My Services

HOW I CAN HELP YOU...

  • One-on-one research consultations (Schedule an appt.)
  • Purchasing books, journals, databases, DVDs you need (Make a recommendation)
  • Subject and general reference services to WU students and faculty
  • Create library research guides for your courses
  • Keep you informed about resources and services
  • Answer your questions (Ask me)

RECENT INSTRUCTION SESSIONS AND WORKSHOPS

Database Expertise

Education

Master of Information Studies (MISt), Library & Information Science; University of Toronto

M.A. German Literature and Culture, Indiana University

M.A., West European Studies; Indiana University

B.A., German, International Relations; Concordia College

Professional Activities and Publications

SELECTED CURRENT AND PAST ACTIVITIES

  • Memberships: American Library Association; Association of College & Research Libraries; Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Round Table; German Studies Association, Modern Language Association, Reference & User Services Association

SELECTED PUBLICATIONS AND PRESENTATIONS

  • "Max Kade Center and Olin Library’s Distinctive Contemporary German Literature Collection" and “Special Collection Treasures from the Gert von Gontard and the Manuscripts & Modern Literature Collections.” Two exhibits to accompany “Transatlantic German Studies: Personal Experiences” symposium at Washington University in St. Louis, September 14-16, 2017. Co-curated with Joel Minor, Jody Mitori, Garth Reese, and Erin Sutherland.\
  • Collaborating with Faculty and Students: A Yearlong Program on the Holocaust” at New Directions for Libraries, Scholars, and Partnerships: an International Symposium,” held October 13, 2017 in Frankfurt am Main, Germany.
  • “WU FOCUS Program on the Holocaust” at “Ripple of Hope” at Jefferson College, September 17, 2017.
  • “From the Librarian’s Desk -- what Emerging Scholars in Germanistik Need to Know about Libraries and Publishing” at 26th Annual Graduate Student Symposium at Washington University in St. Louis, April 1, 2017.
  • Rev. of Encyclopedia of Early Modern History. Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries 54.8 (April 2017): 1151
  • “Deep Dive into the Study of the Holocaust: Reflections on a yearlong journey” YouTube video. Managed video project. Camera and editing, Sean Garcia. February 2, 2017: https://youtu.be/rxnL5FhA4gE
  • “Thirteen Washington University Students and their Deep Dive into the Study of the Holocaust: Reflections from a trip to Germany, Poland, and Lithuania and a year of intensive study" at the St. Louis Holocaust Museum and Learning Center, February 2-March 15, 2017. Co-curated exhibit with Cecily Hibbs, Talia Wazana, and Abigail Wippel.
  • Rev. of Critical Theory: the Key Concepts. Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries 53.8 (April 2016): 218.
  • Alles deutsch, oder nicht? Übersicht über deutsche Bibliotheksbestände in den Vereinigten Staaten." BuB : Forum Bibliothek und Information. Co-authored with Richard Hacken and Heidi Madden. 68.2-3 (2016): 96-99.
  • Rev. of Historical Dictionary of Polish Cinema. Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries 53.2 (October 2015): 218.
  • “Literary Research Guide.” The Charleston Advisor 17.1 (July 2015): 40-44.
  • Rev. of Learn German website by Deutsche Welle. Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries 50.12 (August 2013): 2232.
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online.” The Charleston Advisor 14.3 (January 2013): 35-40
  • "Literary Encyclopedia." The Charleston Advisor 13.3 (January 2012): 22-25.
  • Germanistik Online Datenbank.” The Charleston Advisor 13.1 (July 2011): 28-31.
  •  “HathiTrust -- A Gov Docs Repository?” at Leveraging Your Strengths: Regional Government Documents Conference at Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, May 4, 2012
  • "Embedded Librarian: Meeting Users on their Turf,” at MOBIUS 2009 Conference (via webcast), June 3, 2009

Special Responsibilities at WU

  • Editor, Bibliography (Contemporary German Literature Collection)
  • Major Acquisitions Advisory CommitteCollections Space Management Team,
  • Chair, Mini-Conference for Advanced Graduate Students Planning Team
  • Co-chair, Libraries’ Staff Fundraising Campaign Committee
  • Librarian for Help Desk
  • Zotero trainer