Skip to main content

2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)

This guide provides resources that will help you become better informed about COVID-19.

Trusted news sources

Whenever there is a rapidly developing news story, especially one that might be causing some fear and panic, there is a big opportunity for misinformation to spread both intentionally and unintentionally (see more about the "Infodemic" below).  While it's always important to think about the quality of your sources, it becomes especially important in these situations.  Here are a handful of sources that WU librarians recommend:

Library Resources for finding News on the Coronavirus

Factiva (6 concurrent users)
The Newsstand section of Factiva shows the last two weeks of the following news sources—every article, mainly plain text (some graphics)—New York Times, Wall Street Journal (U.S. edition, Europe edition, and Asia edition), Washington Post, Investor’s Business Daily, and the BBC. The Library subscribes to this database, so all of WU has access. The content of all publications covered in Factiva is also searchable. Click on the Search button in the top bar.

Financial Times/FT.com
FT.com is the Financial Times’ name for their online version. WU has access via our Library subscription. 

New York Times/nytimes.com
The Student Union has purchased semester-long access for all Washington University undergraduates. Sign up @ http://nytimesaccess.com/washingtonuniversity/. Learn how faculty and staff can get 24-hour access @ libguides.wustl.edu/nyt.

Wall Street Journal
WU has access via our Library subscription. 

PressReader
Full-color, full-page collection of today's newspapers from around the world, providing instant access to 1000+ newspapers from 82 countries in 39 languages. For most papers, only the most current 60 days are available. Learn more about this database.

CQ Press Library
The place to search or browse resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. CQ Magazine is a weekly news magazine featuring in-depth reporting on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections extending back to 1983, including: a complete wrap-up of news on Congress, the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Nexis Uni
Coverage: roughly 1980 to date. Includes television and radio. Plain text. Mainly English and Western European languages.

Research Guide to Newspapers
Research Guide compiled by the WU Libraries with additional news sources.