Research Guides: A Guide to Classics Resources: Reference Works

Classics Reference Resources

Ancient Greek Scholarship: a guide to finding, reading, and understanding scholia, commentaries, lexica, and grammatical treatises, from their beginnings to the Byzantine period (2006)
Ancient Greek Scholarship includes detailed discussion of the individual ancient authors on whose works scholia, commentaries, or single-author lexica exist, together with explanations of the probable sources of that scholarship and the ways it is now used, as well as descriptions of extant grammatical works and general lexica. These discussions, and the
annotated bibliography of more than 1200 works, also include evaluations of the different texts of each work and of a variety of electronic resources.
Brill's Companions
Brill’s Companions to Classical Studies and Brill's Companions to Classical Reception combined together.

Brill's New Pauly and Supplements
Brill´s New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996 and considered to be the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world.

Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture
The Cambridge Companions series offers specially-commissioned collections of essays which are intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience of students and non-specialists. Addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.
Cambridge Histories - Ancient History & Classical Studies

Database of Latin Dictionaries
Three kinds of dictionaries: dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words and historical Latin dictionaries.

Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL)
A unique work that brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is an indispensable research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature
Encyclopedia of Ancient History
Includes reference for study of ancient world. Database provides definitions and explanations of key people, places, and events in ancient history between the late Bronze Age and the 7th century CE. Covers entire ancient Mediterranean world including the Near East and Egypt.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology
The Encyclopedia of Archaeology encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.

The Literary Encyclopedia
The Literary Encyclopedia is an original literary reference work, written by specialists from universities around the world. It provides over 3200 authoritative profiles, usually around 2500 words in length, of authors, works and topics written by over 1200 experts.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics
Expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Includes key primary source texts and critical literature that highlights new discoveries, interpretations, and theories in the field of Classical Studies.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format. The nearly eleven hundred articles, written by leading scholars in the field, seek to convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Oxford Classical Dictionary
This is the database version of the Oxford Classical Dictionary. Content is updated regularly.

Reallexikon für Antike und Christentum
A subject dictionary for dealing with Christianity in the ancient world