Notable Features
Click on this icon 
for use information such as file formats, ereader compatibility and restrictions.
Humanities & Literatures ebook Collections
E-Book titles can either be accessed in the library catalog or directly from online library subscriptions. Here are a few online library e-book databases with collections in the Humanities and Literatures. For more information on how to download, search, and navigate these books- click the corresponding subtabs.
- ACLS Humanities eBooksTopics include history, archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. For more info on viewing, navigating, and searching.
- ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)Contains 'nearly 2000 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 16th to the 19th century.' Also available are databases of French Women Writers, Provençal Poetry, the ARTFL Encyclopédie, several dictionaries, etc. For more info on viewing, navigating, and searching.
- Cambridge Books OnlineeBooks available in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. WU Libraries purchase these titles selectively. Advanced search screen searches across multiple Cambridge platforms- Cambridge books online, Cambridge library collection, and Cambridge journals online.
- Cambridge Companions OnlineFull-text access to books in the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion, and Culture series. For more info on viewing, navigating, and searching.
- ProQuest Ebook CentralEBL includes books from many publishers. Some titles are available for short-term loan and some have been purchased by WU Libraries. You can limit your search to titles that are available at WU. WUSTL key and password are required for access.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Full-text. Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. See also: Alpha version: EEBO Text Creation Partnership (EEBO-TCP) , full transcriptions of a growing number of titles (1,800+), the full texts of which are searchable.
- Early European Books, 1450 to 1700High-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources from Early Modern Europe, roughly 1450-1700. In multiple languages and covering multiple subjects and disciplines
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryThe HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. For more info on viewing, navigating and searching.
- Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineIncludes 9,500 English, French and German literature monographs of the Romantic era. Also has newspapers, periodicals, diaries, personal letters, manuscripts, maps, pamphlets of 19th century.
- Olms Online Reprints400 volumes of German literature/literary studies, philosophy, and other subjects in the Humanities. For more info on contents, viewing, and searching.
- Oxford Scholarship OnlineWU has purchased Classical Studies collections and selected titles in the Neuroscience and Law collections.
Ebook search tools
- Cornell University Digital CollectionsDigitized books on agriculture, bee-keeping, home economics, andmore.