Contact Info
Archive, Manuscript & Rare Book collections are accessed in Olin Library at the Special Collections reading room.
HOURS: Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment
LOCATION: Olin Library, 1st floor, Danforth Campus
REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS: 314-935-5495 spec@wumail.wustl.edu
*collections stored offsite require advance notice for retrieval and use
Questions about a specific topic? Contact:
University Archives: Sonya Rooney
Rare Books: Cassie Brand
Manuscript: Joel Minor
Local History: Miranda Rectenwald
Dowd Illustration Research Archive: interim curator
Film & Media Archive: Andy Uhrich
Fannie Hurst
Primary Sources available at Special Collections
Fannie Hurst (1889-1968) spent the first twenty years of her life in St. Louis. She graduated from Washington University with a bachelor degree in 1909, and in the following years became a noted American novelist.
This guide features primary source materials available to researchers from the Department of Special Collections. Also noted are published titles and related resources available from the Washington University Libraries.
Access collections at Special Collections, Olin Library 1st floor. Click each title for more information:
- Fannie Hurst Papers
This link opens in a new window
The Hurst Papers consist of a small quantity of correspondence (most of it between Hurst and her school friend Lois Toensfeldt), the manuscript for her novel Quiet Street,some diary material, and a group of clippings and memorabilia. Special Collections also holds Hurst's personal collection of her published work which includes a complete set of first and variant editions, translations, and other copies of her books. - Arthur Holly Compton Personal Papers
- This link opens in a new window
The papers of Arthur Holly Compton consist of personal correspondence files, lecture and research notes, diaries and journals, publications, biographical data and memorabilia.
Series 6: Lectures and Publications of Arthur H. Compton Sub-Series 7: Atomic Quest Box 17 Folder 17: H Item 3: Postcard from Fannie Hurst to Compton. - Arthur Proetz Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Typescripts by Fannie Hurst and Zoe Akins and a collection of New York Theater programs
Item 2: The Official Chaperone: A Comic Operetta in Two Acts [operetta] by Fannie Hurst with light autograph revision, 1909 - Hatchet Yearbook1907 (covers school year 1905-1906) page 46 senior picture and list activities
1908 (covers school year 1906-1907)
1909 (covers school year 1907-1908)
1910 (covers school year 1908-1909) - International Writers Center Archive (MSS059)
- This link opens in a new window
Research materials about Hurst for the book, Literary St. Louis - Office of Public Affairs, Biographical Faculty Files
- This link opens in a new window
This collection is comprised of CV’s, newspapers clippings, and press releases collected by Washington University’s Office of Public Affairs arranged alphabetically by last name. Some photographs are also found within the collection.
Box H6 Folder 25: Hurst, Fannie (newspaper clippings) - Stratford Lee Morton Papers (WUA00351)
- This link opens in a new window
Morton graduated in 1910. His personal papers include a copy of "The Official Chaperone," presented at commencement 1909, book and lyrics by Fannie Hurst; Annual Field Day program, Francis Field, May 1909; and Scrapbooks 1904 -1910. - Washington University Collection of Photographs of Unusual Format (WUA00276)
- This link opens in a new window
See scrapbook series for:
Fannie Hurst Album and Student Scrapbook, circa 1909 - Washington University Photographic Services CollectionThis collection is comprised of photographic prints created by Washington University’s Office of Public Affairs. A small number of images, most from prior to the 1920s are from alternative sources. Series 4: Photographs of People Affiliated with the University Box H-6 Folder 5: Hurst, Fannie
- William G. Bowling Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Series 3: Notes for "Names That Live", a book about people for whom buildings on the Washington University campus are named.
Box 3 Folder 18: Hurst, Fannie: Original and notes - William K. Bixby Papers (MSS013)
- This link opens in a new window
Autograph of Hurst, dated 1913: June 4.
Alumni Publication (by or about Fannie Hurst)
- Alumni Bulletin (from Washington University Magazine Collection)
- This link opens in a new window
Alumni Bulletin Alumni Bulletin Vol. 2, No 9. / June 1933
page 6 Col. E.M. House Calls Fannie Hurst ’09 Outstanding Figure in United States
Alumni Bulletin Alumni Bulletin Vol. 4, No 1. / October 1934
page 4 Fannie Hurst ’09 Among Alumni Attending Commencement Festivities Last June
Alumni Bulletin Vol. 16, No 2 / December 1946
page 10 Fannie Hurst Urges Women to Play More Active Role in World Affairs
Alumni Bulletin Vol. 18, No 1 / October 1948
page 16 Mrs. Giduz, ’10, Recalls Prediction of Fame for Authoress Fannie Hurst
Alumni Bulletin Vol. 19, No 5 / May 1950
page 27 A Visit with Fannie Hurst, ‘09
Alumni Bulletin Vol. 22, No 2 / October 1952
page 9 Fannie Hurst, ’09, to Give WU Lecture - Alumni News (from Washington University Magazine Collection)
- This link opens in a new window
Washington University Alumni News Vol. 2, Number 4, December 1960
page 1 Fannie Hurst to be Founders Day Speaker on February 26
Washington University Alumni News Vol. 3, Number 1, February 1961
page 1 Fannie Hurst to Tell “What a Novelist Thinks About” for Founders Day
Washington University Alumni News Vol. 10, Number 2, March1968
page 13 Fannie Hurst, WU’s Lady of Letters, Dies’ Professorship Established
Washington University Alumni News Vol. 11, Number 2, March, 1969
page 4 Poet Named First Fannie Hurst Professor - The Washingtonian (from Washington University Magazine Collection)
- This link opens in a new window
The Washingtonian, Vol. 8, No 7. / April 1931
page 21 Fannie Hurst’s Latest-“Back Street” - Washington University Magazine (from Washington University Magazine Collection)
- This link opens in a new window
Washington University Magazine, August 1961
page 28 What a Novelist Thinks About: Fannie Hurst’s Founders Day address - Washington University Magazine: Spring 2000page 16 The Talent of Co-ed Fannie Hurst: In Fannie: The Talent for Success of Writer (Fannie Hurst biographer Brooke Kroeger gives us a glimpse of Hurst’s years at Washington University in the early 1900s)
Books and Stories by Fannie Hurst
- All published works by Fannie Hurst held by Washington University LibrariesWorks by Fannie Hurst, including books in Dutch, German, French, Italian, Norwegian, Polish, Spanish, and Swedish
Stories of Fannie Hurst, The / chosen and with an introduction by Susan Koppelman by Call Number: PS3515.U785 A6 2004ISBN: 1558614885Publication Date: 2004
Books about Fannie Hurst
Black family (dys)function in novels by Jessie Fauset, Nella Larsen, & Fannie Hurst by Call Number: PS374.D57 C35 2003 (Olin)ISBN: 0820451592Publication Date: 2003
Fannie : the talent for success of writer Fannie Hurst by Call Number: PS3515.U78 Z75 1999ISBN: 0812924975Publication Date: 1999
Fannie Hurst, in her own words, 1952-1968 : love notes to her deceased husband, Jacques S. Danielson by Call Number: PS3515.U785 Z46 2018 4oISBN: 9780988362321Publication Date: 2018-03-01Hurst's day books from the Fannie Hurst papers in Washington University's Manuscripts Department.
Literary St. Louis by Call Number: PS285.S2 L58 2000 (Olin A)ISBN: 1883982359Publication Date: 2000Includes biographical entry on Fannie Hurst.
Relevant Collections at other Archives
- Fannie Hurst Collection, 1889-1968, Brandeis University LibrariesIncludes print sources (published novels, correspondence letters, newspaper articles) and photographs.
- Fannie Hurst Collection of Papers, New York Public LibrarySynthetic collection consisting of typescripts, correspondence by the author, and legal documents.
- Fannie Hurst Papers, Harry Ransom CenterIncludes manuscripts of her works (short stories, novels, film scenarios, plays, articles, columns, speeches, and talks), both incoming and outgoing correspondence, as well as miscellaneous materials. 117.50 linear feet