The resource list below categorizes some useful Medieval-specific sites, collections, and publications. Most sources, however, contain a variety of material types. So, read descriptions to understand the sorts of information each collection offers.
Reference/Background Information
Reference/Background Information - Brill's Medieval Reference Library This link opens in a new windowComplete and unabridged online edition of print Brill encyclopedias: Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage, Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle, Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450.
- Middle English Compendium This link opens in a new windowIncludes access to the Middle English Dictionary (1100-1500), the HyperBibliography of Middle English, and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
- British Library - The Middle AgesPage includes explanatory articles as well as digitized illuminated manuscripts, allowing visitors to examine "social history in the Middle Ages...revealing the everyday lives of people across the social spectrum."
- British Library Discovering Literature: MedievalIn addition to digitized material from British Library collections, includes commentary on Canterbury Tales, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, and other works.
- Cambridge Companion to Medieval English Literature, 1100-1500Accessible introduction to works, authors, and context of the period.
Scroll down to see full table of contents. Full text for print and download. - Cambridge Companion to Medieval RomanceIncludes discussion of both British and European works.
Scroll down to see full table of contents. Full text for print and download. - Cambridge Companion to Medieval Women's WritingAccessible introduction to works, authors, and context of the period.
Scroll down to see full table of contents. Full text for print and download.
Indexes/Bibliographies
Sources that collect and organize citations to other relevant primary and secondary sources, primary. Some sources listed may also include full-text content.
- Feminae: Medieval Woman and Gender IndexIndexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies This link opens in a new windowExpert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Covers European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa from the period 400-1500. The database comprises over 300,000 articles from over 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany.
- Medieval Sourcesonline This link opens in a new windowFull text of all of the books in the series for students, academics, colleges and universities.
- MESA - Medieval Electronic Scholarly AllianceAggregates the best scholarly resources in medieval studies and make them fully searchable and interoperable. Read the "What is MESA?" link for more information.
eJournals
Browse or search for specific journals in this field of study. Try finding these titles through the eJournal search.
- Chaucer Review
- Comitatus: A Journal of Medieval and Renaissance Studies
- Exemplaria: A Journal of Theory in Medieval and Renaissance Studies
- Interfaces: A Journal of Medieval European Literatures
- Manuscript Studies
- Medieval and Renaissance Drama in England
- Modern Philology
- New Medieval Literatures
- Postmedieval: A Journal of Medieval Cultural Studies
- Speculum: A Journal of Medieval Studies
- Studies in the Age of Chaucer
- Studies in Philology
Primary Sources
- Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new windowA widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages. Also contains translations and supporting materials, maps showing the routes of the travellers, and introductory essays by leading scholars.
- Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO) This link opens in a new windowA resource for the study of Britain and its place in the world during the medieval and early modern period (c. 1100-1800). Combines the key printed sources for English, Irish, Scottish and Colonial history with original manuscripts and the latest web technologies.
- Medieval Digital Resources: A Curated Guide and DatabaseProject of the Medieval Academy of America--"The project aims to provide access to websites that contain content of interest to medievalists and meet the Academy’s scholarly and technical standards of web presentation"
- Depicting Devotion: Illuminated Books of Hours from the Middle Ages"Books of Hours, one specimen in the history of Illuminated Manuscripts, exhibit a vivid interplay between image and text. Washington University Libraries Department of Special Collections holdings of ten fifteenth-century French and Flemish Books of Hours offer a glimpse into this popular medieval genre."