Subject Guide
Library Databases
- Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 (Parts I, II and III) This link opens in a new windowSourced from the British Foreign Office files at The National Archives, the UK government's official archive. Focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan.
- India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new windowSourced from the Manuscript Collections of the National Library of Scotland, and documenting the history of South Asia from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the granting of independence for India and Pakistan in 1947.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowOver 70,000 images of original documents relating to Empire Studies. The images are sourced from libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the British Library.
- South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries - one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.
Primary Source Material
These are external sites and are not monitored or maintained by University Libraries. Please report broken links to AJ Robinson.
- South Asia Open Archives (SAOA)The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) is a rich and growing collection of historical and contemporary sources covering the arts, humanities, and social sciences, in English and South Asian languages, from and about South Asia.
- Indian KanoonSearch engine for Indian law
- British Library's Endangered Archives ProgramOpen access collections of digitized unique cultural artifacts.
- Digital Colonial Documents (India)To promote study of the rare seminal documents which were influential in the formation of the notions of nation, state and culture during the colonial period.
- Bhagat Singh (1907 - 1931)A small collection of documents relating to Bhagat Singh.
- Women in Workd History: South AsiaWomen in World History reflects three approaches central to current scholarship in world history and the history of women: an emphasis on comparative issues rather than civilizations in isolation; a focus on contacts among different societies; and an attentiveness to “global” forces, such as technology diffusion, migration, or trade routes, that transcend individual societies. Project materials also utilize recent advances in our understanding of how historical learning takes place, including complex interaction with sources, recursive reading, and skills used by historians.
- South Asian Migration Histories TimelineMoving Here explores, records and illustrates why people came to England over the last 200 years and what their experiences were and continue to be. It offers free access, for personal and educational use, to an online catalogue of versions of original material related to migration history from local, regional and national archives, libraries and museums.
- Medical History of British IndiaCollection of reports regarding disease and its prevention in 19th and 20th-century British India, including veterinary medicine and animal husbandry.
- South Asian Gender and SexualityBorn digital collections of websites and resources produced by activists, grassroots organizations, and social justice movements committed to promoting the visibility and experiences of LGBTQAI+ people and women in South Asia and its diasporas.
- All India Trade Union Congress ArchivesThe All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC) is the oldest trade union federation in India, founded on 31 October 1920 in Bombay (now Mumbai). Digitized documents are primarily from the 1948-1991 period.