Oral Histories

About

Fashion Group International St. Louis Oral Histories (WUA00518)

In spring 2021, Washington University students in the course "Fashion History and Research" conducted oral history interviews with long-time members of the Fashion Group International-St. Louis (FGI). Many of these FGI members are also alumni of Washington University. All recordings were conducted remotely over zoom due to Covid-19 safety protocols.

Fashion History and Research (F10.ART.324E.01) was taught by associate professor Dr. Mary Ruppert-Stroescu, in the Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts. This seminar course studied cultural and social influences to comprehend how these impact the evolution of fashion and are expressed in clothing at various junctures in history.

Conditions Governing Use

Providing access to materials does not constitute permission to publish or otherwise authorize use. All publication not covered by fair use or other exceptions is restricted to those who have permission of the copyright holder, which may or may not be Washington University. If you wish to publish or license Special Collections materials, please contact Special Collections to inquire about copyright status at (314) 935-5495 or spec@wumail.wustl.edu.

Arrangement

The collection is ordered alphabetically by person interviewed.

Links to recordings and transcripts are provided if permission to share online was granted by the interviewee. Users are provided access to these materials for educational or personal use only. They may not be reposted without permission (although sharing links is certainly encouraged). For further questions about copyright, usage, or to access recordings not available online, please contact spec@wumail.wustl.edu

Susan Block 4/5/2021
Interviewer: Connor Seger.
Susan Block graduated from Washington University in St. Louis, first studying painting and then changing to fashion. After graduation she worked at Famous-Barr department store and as a fashion consultant dressing people for television and public appearances. In 1980 she opened her own interior design decorating business. In 1996 Block opened her retail store, The Designing Block, providing home accessories and interior décor. Block has been an active member of FGI in St. Louis for over 30 years, finding it an important source of networking and mentoring.
more...less...
Restrictions to access: Only summary available online; contact Special Collections to request a copy or for access in the reading room.
Lynda Brady 4/17/2021
Interviewer: Cici Dong
Lynda Brady, was the past Regional Director of FGI in St. Louis. She earned a B.S. in Apparel & Textile marketing from Kansas State University and she in 2021 was working at Cameron as an accountant in St Louis Missouri. Topics covered include past educational background, internship at Neiman Marcus, career, personal style of dressing, and FGI, including her experience as FGI Regional Director.
more...less...
Restrictions: Only summary available online; must get written permission of interviewee to access full oral history. Contact Special Collections for more information.
Donna Hinden 4/9/2021
Interviewer: Olivia Liang
Donna Hinden was born in Grosse Pointe, Michigan, a suburb of Detroit. She attended Michigan State University, studying English with the intention of becoming an elementary school teacher. A mother to two children, Hinden would stay in-tune with fashion trends of the time because she would hand-make both of her children’s wardrobes. Starting her career in fashion as a part-time office assistant at Plaza Frontenac, Hinden worked to promote the mall by helping to host fashion shows and events. Hinden discusses the experience of joining the fashion industry without any formal, relevant education or training, but simply with an interest that had never previously expanded outside the home. The interview then covers the cultural and community value that FGI offered Hinden as a regional director and a member, including fond memories of events, like the annual conventions to overseas locations.
more...less...
Restrictions: Until December 31, 2022 only summary available online; must get written permission of interviewee to access full oral history. Contact Special Collections for more information.
Phyllis Langsdorf 4/6/2021
Interviewer: Kate Ward
Phyllis Langsdorf was born in Dallas, Texas, in 1942. She began her college career at Texas University and graduated from Southern Methodist University, where she studied to become a teacher. She never received a formal education in fashion. However, from a young age, she was exposed to fashion, given that her mother was a buyer and fabulous dresser, and her father worked in the fur business. After graduating from college, she began working as a teacher. Upon realizing that teaching was not her passion, she opened her own stationery business, selling gifts and desk items. Then she became a buyer and retailer for Foley's Department Store, which was part of Federated Department Stores, in those days. Then, she relocated to St. Louis after receiving a job offer by the Stix, Baer & Fuller as a lingerie buyer.
Rogene Nelsen 4/7/2021
Interviewer: Aliya Hollub
Rogene Nelsen is from a small town near Omaha, Nebraska once called Millard. Her love of sewing began when making clothes for her two older sisters. She attended college at University of Nebraska, majoring in clothing textless and design. Her career began in New York at Bloomindale's, then Loom Skill, and then a teaching position at University of Wisconsin. Nelson completed masters work at Louisiana State University and began teaching at Kansas Sate University in 1977. She moved to St. Louis in 1979-1980 with her husband, who was attending Washington University Law School. As a faculty member of Fontbonne University Nelson joined FGI in 1988 mostly to foster connections for her students. She served in every executive position except for Regional Director. Nelson retired from Fontbone in 2018 after 40 years of teaching.
more...less...
Available online
Anne Pokoski 3/31/2021
Pokoski was born in St. Louis, Missouri and grew up in the suburbs. She attended the University of Missouri-Columbia and graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Journalism. The first 12 years of her career were spent working in marketing for clothing retail establishments after which she transitioned into jewelry and gemology. As a certified GIA gemologist, as of 2021 is is self-employed as a fine jewelry consultant. The interview covered Pokoski’s personal and professional background, her work with Fashion Group international in roles from Associate member to Regional Director, and her observations on the changes in fashion and retail over time.
more...less...
Restrictions to access: Only summary available online; contact Special Collections to request a copy or for access in the reading room.
Jan Poneta 4/7/2021
Interviewer: Zhishu Yang
Jan Elaine Ponea was born on a small farm in Illinois, and came to St. Louis to pursue her career. One of her first jobs was at Stix, Baer & Fuller department stores. The interview discusses her career development and early life; definitions of beauty and fashion; fashion in St. Louis; her membership in FGI; and how Ponea's life has changed under COVID-19.
more...less...
Restrictions to access: Only summary available online; contact Special Collections to request a copy or for access in the reading room.
Pauline P. Walsh 4/9/2021
Interviewer: Sophie Roig
Pauline P. Walsh is a fashion professionaland former Regional Director of Fashion Group International. Walsh was born in Iowa and moved to St. Louis after getting married in 1954.She has loved fashion from a young age and got her professional start at the Plaza Frontenac shopping mall. Since then, she has worked in narration, a speaker at fashion seminars, and as a wardrobe consultant with her company, Professional Image with Polly Walsh. In this interview Walsh discussed her experience with the St. Louis fashion scene, specifically its roots in traditionand the evolution of the trajectory of general fashion trends. She discusses her time with Plaza Frontenac and as Regional Director of the Fashion Group International, concluding with the importance of image in American culture.
more...less...
Restrictions to access: Only summary available online; contact Special Collections to request a copy or for access in the reading room.

About the finding aid

Finding aid published: September 2021

Finding aid author: Miranda Rectenwald