Research Guides: Marketing Plan Research: Databases

Databases for Marketing Plans

List of Databases

Business Source Complete (1965-) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from scholarly business journals and other sources, including financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Hoover’s Online Business Network (Access restricted to Kopolow Business Library & Business School) This link opens in a new window
This site contains in-depth company information including profiles, financials, officers, products, competitors and more. The database features the ability to build company and contact lists, browse news, research industries, and obtain market research and analyst reports. NOTE: Limited to Business School students/faculty/staff on proxy. Available to all students on-site at Kopolow Business Library.
IBISWorld (includes Benchmarking Pro Suite) This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides access to over 700 United States industries. There are also many other reports such as the new “Global” Industry Reports covering world industry analysis. In addition to the core Industry Report product, they also publish over 700 US Industry Risk Rating Reports, over 700 Industry Profiles as well as hundreds of Economic and Demographic Profiles.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to find market research reports for a number of industries. The information in the reports is a mix of primary data collected by Mintel together with secondary source information.
New York Times (Current) This link opens in a new window
Create an account using your wustl.edu email address. See the New York Times Libguide and FAQ.
To register for an account,
1. Follow the link to accessnyt.com
2. Type and select "Washington University - Saint Louis” in the box.
3. Create account and complete registration fields.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
Nexis Uni Tutorials on YouTube
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
PitchBook provides comprehensive, detailed data on the Private and Public Markets – including companies, investors, funds, investments, exits, and people – to help global business and academic professionals discover and execute opportunities and research with confidence. Use the platform to track the flow of capital across the entire Venture Capital, Private Equity, and Merger & Acquisition landscapes while diving deep into the profiles of companies, investors, funds, and deals taking place. NOTE: See "more" section for Login Instructions.
Login Instructions: Click the "Log in" button at the top right of the homepage. On the "Log into the PitchBook Platform" screen, choose the "Log in with SSO" option under the gray "Log in" button. Type your wustl.edu email address into the "Email" field and click the orange "Log in" button. This will take you to the WashU WUSTL Key Login page. Enter your WUSTL key username and password and click "Login." If you are off campus, you may need to use the 2FA Duo authentication. After WUSTL key authentication you will be brought to the PitchBook platform dashboard.
S&P Capital IQ (Access restricted to Kopolow Business Library & Business School) This link opens in a new window
An intuitive and comprehensive resource for those interested in financial analysis of publicly traded firms. International in scope. Fixed income, industry coverage, news, peer analysis, earnings forecasts, people and private company information is also available. To request an account or if you have questions, contact Madjid Zeggane; 314-935-6963. Please provide your status (e.g. 2nd year BSBA, MBA class of 2020, faculty, etc). You must be a currently enrolled Business School student or a Business School faculty/staff member at the university to maintain your Capital IQ account.
Learn more about this database.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Portal for business and industry, government, and demographic statistics that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from some 18,000+ public and commercial sources onto a single, easy-to-search platform. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries. Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to qualitative facts on agriculture, economics, finance, information technology, politics and society, and much more.
Wall Street Journal (current) This link opens in a new window
The Libraries have partnered with Olin Business School to provide online access to the Wall Street Journal. To access, go to WSJ.com/WUSTL. Log in with your WUSTL key and create an account using your WUSTL email as your user ID. Users will be asked to re-authenticate once a year and may receive an email from WSJ requesting this.