Below are some starting places for researching the history, geography, and environment of the St. Louis area.
These St. Louis area communities were explored by previous Pathfinder students.
Bellefontaine and Calvary Cemeteries
Final Resting Place by Call Number: F474.S262 A22 1997 (Use only at Special Collections)ISBN: 9780963144881Publication Date: 1997-06-01A copy can also be requested for check-out using MOBIUS
Cahokia
- Illinois Digital Heritage HubKeyword searchable for cultural heritage resources from across Illinois, including many meto-east St. Louis communities.
Includes photographs, manuscripts / archival materials, books, maps, audio recordings, and videos. - Common fields : an environmental history of St. Louis (Hurley 1997)"The Rise and Fall of Cahokia Mounds" (chapter starts on page 55)
Cahokia by ISBN: 0226101363Publication Date: 2002-02-15Also available as ebook from Internet Archive https://archive.org/details/cahokiamirrorofc0000chap
Florissant
Alternate keywords: Florissant Valley, north St. Louis County
In the Walnut Grove by Call Number: F474.F6 I5 2020ISBN: 9798561311390Publication Date: 2020-11-12This book examines slavery in and around Florissant and explores the history of the African American experience in North St. Louis County.
The Florissant Basin, St. Louis County : an analysis and synthesis of the geographical factors involved in the continuity of the geographical history in a distinctly agricultural unit by Call Number: LD5791.8.MS33 St82 4o (Use at Special Collections)Publication Date: 1933
Granite City
Alternate Key Words: Metro-East, Granite City Steel
- Illinois Digital Heritage HubKeyword searchable for cultural heritage resources from across Illinois, including many meto-east St. Louis communities.
Includes photographs, manuscripts / archival materials, books, maps, audio recordings, and videos. - 1955 Report on Granite CityHarland Bartholomew and Associates Collection
Series 3, Vol. 27
See: http://archon.wulib.wustl.edu/index.php?p=collections/controlcard&id=523 for description of overall collection
Herculaneum
Additional Keywords to search: Herculaneum Lead Mine, Jefferson County, Doe Run Lead, Lead Belt, Herky, Dunklin Schools
- Missouri Digital HeritigeKeyword searchable.
Digitized materials from the Missouri State Archives, the Missouri State Library and other institutions from across the state. Includes materials about St. Louis and other nearby communities in Missouri.
Features books, periodicals, maps, photographs, videos, and online exhibits. - Missouri Historical Review 1909See page 224 for Herculaneum
- A geologic and historic look at lead mining in southeast Missouri byCall Number: TN453.M5 P37 2014 4o (request)Publication Date: 2014
- Herculaneum, 1808-1983 : legacy of a pioneer Missouri town. byCall Number: request from MOBIUSPublication Date: 1983
- History of Franklin, Jefferson, Washington, Crawford & Gasconade counties, Missouri: From the earliest time to the presentCall Number: ebookPublication Date: Originally published by Goodspeed Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888.
Old North St. Louis
Alternate Keywords: near-northside, Murphy Blair, Yeatman, ONSL
- Missouri Hub: DPLAKeyword searchable.
Digitized materials from Missouri Historical Society (History Museum), St. Louis Public Library, St. Louis University, and other area institutions. Some materials also linked from Missouri Digital Heritage site.
Discovering African-American St. Louis : a guide to historic sites by Call Number: F474.S29 N485 1994Several copies may be checked out or view ebook https://archive.org/details/discoveringafric0000wrig
- Old North St. Louis : sustainably developing a historic district. byCall Number: full text onlinePublication Date: March 2016
- From village to neighborhood : a history of Old North St. Louis byCall Number: F474.S23 R43 2004 (Art Lib or Archives)Publication Date: 2004
- “Narrating the Urban Waterfront: The Role of Public History in Community Revitalization.” HURLEY, ANDREW(The Public Historian 28, no. 4 (2006): 19–50.)
St. Louis Place neighborhood / NGA Site
Alternate Keywords: northside, Murphy Blair, Yeatman, Montgomery, Old North St. Louis,
- Missouri Digital HeritigeKeyword searchable.
Digitized materials from the Missouri State Archives, the Missouri State Library and other institutions from across the state. Includes materials about St. Louis and other nearby communities in Missouri.
Features books, periodicals, maps, photographs, videos, and online exhibits. - Missouri Hub: DPLAKeyword searchable.
Digitized materials from Missouri Historical Society (History Museum), St. Louis Public Library, St. Louis University, and other area institutions. Some materials also linked from Missouri Digital Heritage site. - St. Louis Place Historic District Nomination FormA narrative history of the neighborhood starts on page 60
- Discovering African-American St. Louis : a guide to historic sites by Call Number: F474.S29 N485 1994Several copies may be checked out or view ebook https://archive.org/details/discoveringafric0000wrig
Tower Grove Park
- Tower Grove Park of the City of St. Louis. Review of its origin and history, plan of improvement, ornamental features, etcPublication: St. Louis, Mo, R. P. Studley & Co., Printers, 1883
St. Louis Parks by Call Number: SB482.M82 S235 2012 (check out from WU Library)ISBN: 9781935806097Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Valmeyer
also search Floods – Illinois. Food of 1993
Keywords: Monroe County
- Illinois Digital Heritage HubKeyword searchable for cultural heritage resources from across Illinois, including many meto-east St. Louis communities.
Includes photographs, manuscripts / archival materials, books, maps, audio recordings, and videos. - Geologic evaluation of the proposed new town site Valmeyer, IllinoisGovernment Document (available online)
Borrow from Library:
- After the flood : crises, concepts, conclusions byCall Number: TC530 A4 1995 (Art Lib)Publication Date: 1995
- Floodwatch '93 [videorecording]. byCall Number: GB1399.4.M72 F56 1993 (Olin B)
High and Mighty by Call Number: F472 M6 H54 1993 (Olin 3)ISBN: 0836280474Publication Date: 1993-09-01
When the Waters Recede by Call Number: Request via MOBIUSISBN: 9780935153163Publication Date: 1996-08-01Personal essays recount the desperate struggle of families and communities to save their homes and a way of life during the Great Flood of 1993.
Weldon Spring
also search Saint Charles County; Augusta Busch Wildlife Area; Weldon Spring Ordnance Works
- Bibliographic citations pertinent to the Weldon Spring Site, St. Charles County, MissouriAuthors: Owen, P. T.; Michelson, D. C.; Knox, N. P.
Publication Date: 1985-08-01
Research Org.: Oak Ridge National Lab., TN (USA) - Weldon Spring, Missouri, Site History (Fact Sheet)Publication Date: 2011-12-12
Research Org.: US Department of Energy (USDOE), Washington DC (United States). Office of Legacy Management (LM)
- Discovering African-American St. Louis : a guide to historic sites by Call Number: F474.S29 N485 1994May be checked out or view ebook https://archive.org/details/discoveringafric0000wrig
See Chapter 12
- Weldon Spring Ordnance Works Historic ContextAuthors: Smith, Adam; Stone, Sunny
Publisher: Construction Engineering Research Laboratory (U.S.)
Engineer Research and Development Center (U.S.)