Customer channels
Customer channels
Often channels refer to how a product/service is distributed or where it is sold. In the BMC, channels refer more broadly to how customers are reached. So channels encompass how a business raises awareness, the media customers like to use to learn about the product/service, and what distribution channels will offer the product/service.
Consumer oriented
Marketing and advertising databases provide data and insights into how consumers respond to different communication approaches. Market research databases provide data on existing channels used to deliver consumer oriented goods.
- Business Source Complete (1965-) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from scholarly business journals and other sources, including financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Updated daily. Learn more about this database
- APA PsycInfo (formerly PsycInfo) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields. Indexed materials are international in scope selected from psychology and related journals published globally in over 25 languages. Updated weekly. Learn more about this database
- Mintel Reports This link opens in a new windowUse this resource to find market research reports for a number of industries. The information in the reports is a mix of primary data collected by Mintel together with secondary source information.
- IBISWorld (includes Benchmarking Pro Suite) This link opens in a new windowIBISWorld provides access to over 700 United States industries. There are also many other reports such as the new “Global” Industry Reports covering world industry analysis. In addition to the core Industry Report product, they also publish over 700 US Industry Risk Rating Reports, over 700 Industry Profiles as well as hundreds of Economic and Demographic Profiles.
Business to business
Practice oriented books or case studies on marketing and distribution may provide insights. Trade association membership lists, trade shows or industry reports on wholesaling for the relevant section may be useful.
To find trade or professional associations google the keywords that describe the category and limit to site:org (ex: restaurant trade shows site:org). Industry reports (ex: IBISWorld) often list relevant trade associations too. The website Trade Show News Network lists top trade shows, but the search function found by scrolling on the right pane is poor.
Search for books in our collection on marketing or any of the many possible distribution channels related to the relevant product or service. Example: Library catalog search for internet marketing.
- Business Source Complete (1965-) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from scholarly business journals and other sources, including financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Updated daily. Learn more about this database
- IBISWorld (includes Benchmarking Pro Suite) This link opens in a new windowIBISWorld provides access to over 700 United States industries. There are also many other reports such as the new “Global” Industry Reports covering world industry analysis. In addition to the core Industry Report product, they also publish over 700 US Industry Risk Rating Reports, over 700 Industry Profiles as well as hundreds of Economic and Demographic Profiles.
- Wall Street Journal (current) This link opens in a new windowThe Libraries have partnered with Olin Business School to provide online access to the Wall Street Journal. To access, go to WSJ.com/WUSTL. Log in with your WUSTL key and create an account using your WUSTL email as your user ID. Users will be asked to re-authenticate once a year and may receive an email from WSJ requesting this.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.