When conforming with the health sciences standards
The Cochrane Handbook mandates that the following databases are searched:
- MEDLINE
- Embase
- The Cochrane Library
- Cochrane Handbook, part 2, chapter 4, section 4.3: sources to searchThis chapter outlines the gold standard guidelines for systematic review searching and contains a section recommending sources to search.
Grey literature
You should also consider searching the Grey literature.
Quick guides
- How to plan your search (PDF)A short guide on steps you need to plan your search, including how to combine your search terms using OR, AND, NOT.
- How to save time searching databases (PDF)Use this guide to learn how to use truncation and wildcard symbols to get the best results when searching
Comparing PubMed and MEDLINE via Ovid
MEDLINE (Ovid) ALL accessed via UniSA Library includes all content in PubMed and is updated daily. For more detailed comparison of Ovid MEDLINE and PubMed see:
- Ovid's Medline compared to PubMed2021 article produced by Wolters Kluwer (Ovid)
- How to compare Ovid MEDLINE & PubMed2019 PowerPoint presentation produced by Wolters Kluwer (Ovid)
Sensitivity warning
Database records and thesauri of subject headings contain terms that reflect language and attitudes of the authors and period in which publications were written. Some terms are outdated, offensive, and inappropriate.
Where to search
Watch the video below to learn about why and where you should search for published (black) literature.
Video Length: 3:56
- The search strategy for a scoping review should aim to be comprehensive in order to identify published and unpublished resources.
- The JBI recommends starting with an initial search of at least 2 databases relevant to the review topic, followed by an analysis of both the text words contained in the title and abstract and the subject headings used in retrieved papers.
- Using all identified keywords and subject headings, a comprehensive search can then be developed.
- You’ll need to search a range of databases. The databases you choose to search will depend on your review questions.
- Primary databases are comprehensive indices of research literature and contain references to a wide range of original research.
- As a general rule, you should at least search MEDLINE and Embase for your scoping review.
- If your question relates to allied health or nursing, you should also search Emcare.
- It is also recommended to search multidisciplinary databases such as Web of Science or Scopus, as these cover a broad range of subject areas.
- Secondary databases contain articles such as systematic reviews or meta-analyses, where authors have appraised research studies using set criteria.
- As a general rule, you should also search secondary databases such as the Cochrane Library and the Joanna Briggs Institute.
- Only ever search one database at a time. This is important because you will need to report how many resources you found in each database.
- You may also choose to contact authors of primary studies for further information or additional publications. This should be stated in your protocol.
Databases
Primary databases are indexes of research literature that contain records for a wide range of original research. There are key databases that are regarded as having relatively comprehensive coverage in specific disciplinary areas.
For Cochrane Reviews, the Cochrane Handbook mandates search of the Cochrane Review Group's Specialised Register, MEDLINE, and Embase (where available).
- APA PsycInfo (via EBSCOhost)The most comprehensive database for coverage of international literature on psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). Search across records describing articles from thousands of journals (99% peer reviewed) published from the 1800s to today. Records include subject headings from the APA Thesaurus. Filters available include research methodology, age group and more.
- Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost)Key database for business, covering thousands of peer reviewed and professional journals (some back to the 1800s). Also includes reports, company profiles, conference proceedings and a range of other material. Records are indexed with Business thesaurus terms. Example subject coverage: marketing, management, organizational psychology, finance
- CINAHL Plus (via EBSCOhost)With records from 1937, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is a key database for these areas. Covers several thousand journals and includes CINAHL subject headings based on MeSH
- ERIC (1966-) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowOver 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Updated monthly. Links to fulltext ED documents have been added; more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004) are freely available.
- Global Health (1973 - ) (3 users) This link opens in a new windowA public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database. Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.
- MEDLINE (Web of Science) (1950-) This link opens in a new windowIf you receive an error message and cannot access the database, try clearing your browser cache and cookies. The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database. Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers; link to NCBI databases and PubMed.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) (1946-)A large biomedical database produced by the US National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is key for health-related topics. Indexed with the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and with records from 1946 to current, primarily for scholarly journal articles. MEDLINE via Ovid is recommended for systematic searches rather than via the free PubMed.
- PubMed (1946 - ) This link opens in a new windowOver 3,500 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Includes the entire Medline database (1966+) PLUS PreMedline (recent articles that are not yet fully indexed for Medline) and links to publisher full-text web sites and other databases. Learn more about this database.
- University Library A-Z Databases listSearch or browse to locate the most appropriate databases for your research
Some databases and organizations focus on higher level evidence such as clinical trials and systematic reviews. These collections are smaller in size than the primary databases and many are available freely on the internet.
For Cochrane Reviews it is required to search the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL).
- Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH)Source of evidence focused on the 'optimal use of health technologies' such as drugs, diagnostic tests, devices and procedures. Access reports including rapid reviews and more
- The Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- COSMIN database of systematic reviews of outcome measurement instrumentsCollated annually from PubMed and Embase searches by the international research group COnsensus-based Standards for the selection of health Measurement INstruments (VU University Amsterdam and others)
- Epistemonikos'...a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence. It is the largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence' ... 'About Epistemonikos'
- NICE – National Institute for Health and Care ExcellenceProvides independent, authoritative and evidence-based guidance on the most effective ways to prevent, diagnose and treat disease and ill health, reducing inequalities and variation (UK)
Multidisciplinary databases can also be useful to search, as these typically index material from diverse subject areas. Searching one or more of these is typically done to increase the sensitivity of the search.
- ScopusOne of the largest multidisciplinary bibliographic databases, Scopus covers peer reviewed journals, trade journals, books and book chapters, conference papers and patents. Material chosen for inclusion meets strict selection criteria such as type of peer review and significance to the field. Also provides backward and forward citation searching, publication metrics and analytical features
- Web of Science (1900 - )Bibliographic database that covers the sciences, social sciences and arts & humanities
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Full Text (1637 - )A major source of theses, primarily from the United States but also including outputs from a range of other countries
How many databases need to be searched?
The short answer is: it depends!
Some of the factors to consider include:
- the type of review you are undertaking (systematic, scoping, rapid, umbrella, etc.)
- expectations – your disciplinary area, where you plan to publish, your review team, manuals/guidelines you're following
- whether your topic is multidisciplinary or focused on a single discipline area
- how many are reasonable to search and at what point is it likely to be a case of diminishing returns?
- are you planning to include Grey Literature & Other Sources, e.g. theses and conference proceedings?
No one database can cover all the literature for your research question. While databases may claim to comprehensively cover the literature in a specific area, e.g. nursing, pharmacy, or education, there are many different databases out there which may contain unique records.
The Where to search page can help you decide where to search - or you are welcome to consult a librarian.