Tools for Finding Books, Book Chapters, Journal Articles - English
- PrimoWashington University Libraries' discovery tool. Lets you search across many (but not all!) journal indexes and databases, in addition to print holdings. (Tip: Primo can search inside DBpia, too, but not inside the Bibliography of Asian Studies).
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - ) This link opens in a new windowReferences to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
- Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFrom the Modern Language Association (MLA), this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts. Includes the MLA Thesaurus and the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 publications, with over 7,850 peer-reviewed. Abstracts and indexing available for over 13,780 journals in the collection.
- A-Z DatabasesFind and learn about additional databases available through Wash U Libraries. (Access restrictions apply to most online databases listed there).
Tools for Finding Books, Book Chapters, Journal Articles - CJK Languages
- DBpia
This link opens in a new window
[Full-text] Full-text database of academic journal articles. (Coverage does not overlap with KISS) - KISS (KoreanStudies Information Service System)
- This link opens in a new window
[Full-text] Full-text database of scholarly articles.
- Zasshikiji Sakuin Shusei Database (ざっさくプラス: 雑誌記事索引集成データベース)
- This link opens in a new window
[INDEX ONLY] Index to major to local periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, from 1868 to present. - CiNii Articles[INDEX ONLY] [Open access] Academic journals and bulletins. Use title, author, journal name or keywords to search Japanese academic articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
- Maruzen e-Book Library
- This link opens in a new window
[Full-text] WUSTL Libraries have full-text, online access to 「書物学 = Bibliology」 (v.1-5) and 「Digital Humanities jp (DHjp)」(v.1-4), among a few other e-book titles.
- China Academic Journals Database (Series F, G, H, J) (1906 - ) This link opens in a new windowA periodical database with access to numerous Chinese language periodicals published in or after 1906. A PDF viewer with a Chinese simplified language pack is required to view articles.
Locating Books and Full-text Articles
Particular title: If you know what book you are looking for, follow the steps below to find/request the book.
1. Washington University library Classic Catalog
Start here. Chinese, Japanese and Korean language materials can be searched both by original scripts and by Romanized titles. (See the Romanization tab for Romanization rules used in North American libraries).
2. MOBIUS catalog
If the title you are looking for is not in our collection, try MOBIUS. With MOBIUS you can search and request books and other materials held at other university and public libraries in Missouri. Books usually come in 3-7 days.
3. WorldCat
If no other MOBIUS libraries have the title, you may have a better luck with WorldCat. If other WorldCat-affiliated libraries have the item, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL) through ILLiad. Books and other physical materials usually arrive in 1-2 weeks. (Follow the Send Request to ILLiad link on the result screen).
If full text of the article is available through the databases, a link to a PDF (or other electronic formats) appears on your search results. If you do not find full-text articles through the databases listed here, follow the steps below to look for print copies or alternate electronic editions. Wash U Libraries's collections may include a print or stand-alone electronic copy of the journal. (Many Japanese journals still come in print format. See also the list of Japanese journals currently received at the East Asian Library).
1. Gather as much information about the article (journal/magazine title, year of publication, volume, number, article title, pages, etc) from the index/databases.
2. Look up the journal/magazine title using the Classic Catalog. (See the Book tab and the Romanization tab for more tips).
3. If you find the journal at Wash U Libraries, follow the location(s) and call number to locate the physical copy (if print), or use the link provided on the Classic Catalog (if available electronically). Older issues of magazines and journals can be requested and/or checked out like regular books. If the journal is not held at Wash U, you can still request journal/magazine articles through Interlibrary Loan. (Sometimes Google Scholar provides free access to full-text articles as well).
North American libraries use standardized sets of Romanization rules to transliterate book titles (and author names) in non-Western languages. Those rules are modified to achieve consistency in library catalogs, so they may be different from the Romanization systems you are familiar with from your language classes and/or from living in China, Taiwan, Japan or Korea. ALA-LC approved Romanization tables are linked below. (Links will take you to Library of Congress documents).
Tip: When searching on library catalogs (e.g. Classic Catalog, WorldCat), you can ignore macrons and all other diacritic symbols.