Skip to Main Content

Recording Individual Consultations and Instruction Sessions

Here are forms librarians can use to track interactions with users either met with individually or in instructional settings.

Data Collection for External Reporting

Long before metrics for subject librarians were established, Washington University Libraries collected data for external reporting purposes. Regarding the work of subject librarians, Assessment & Analytics collects and shares data with ARL, ACRL, and IPEDS on individual transactions and research consultations, as well as instruction. This data is similarly shared with local stakeholders, such as the Libraries' Faculty and National Council groups, both of which seek to advise and advocate for the Libraries within the WashU system and beyond. Recording data for this purpose remains an important responsibility for subject librarians. The parameters used by A&A are listed below. 

  • Individual Consultations form
    • Method of contact
    • Question type
  • Instruction/Outreach form
    • Number of participants
    • Method of instruction
    • Initial visit?

In 2019, subject librarian metrics (formerly, performance indicators) were developed to help measure the work being done by subject librarians on the Danforth Campus, excluding Brown School and Law, in the areas of research and liaison services, instruction, and collection development.

Metrics are collected on a quarterly basis. Please enter metrics data into LibInsights by the last day of each quarter.  

Q1: July-September (September 30)

Q2: October-December (December 31)

Q3: January-March (March 31)

Q4: April-June (June 30)

If you enter metrics after the end of the quarter, please back-date it to ensure that it is included with that quarter's data. 

LibInsights Parameters

Below are the parameters of the data collected in the areas of research services, instruction, and collection development. 

Research Services
Individual Consultations form
  • Question Type
    • Transactions, Reference Consultations
  • Primary Reason for Consultation
    • All
  • Primary Patron Demographics
    • All                                                                                                                                       
 
Instruction/Outreach form
  • Type of Instruction/Outreach
    • Is “Liaison Activity”
  • Primary Focus on Instruction/Outreach
    • Is “Departmental/Liaison Communication”
  • Primary Patron Demographics
    • All
Please contact Christie Peters for questions regarding research services subject librarian metrics.
Instruction (In-Person)
Instruction/Outreach form
  • Type of Instruction/Outreach
    • Is “Instruction”
  • Primary Instruction Method
    • Is "Class session; Workshop"
  • Primary Focus of Instruction/Outreach
    • Is Not “Collections; Departmental/Liaison Communication; Departmental Event”                 
Instruction (Alternative Methods)
Instruction/Outreach form
  • Type of Instruction/Outreach
    • Is “Instruction”
  • Primary Instruction Method 
    • Is Not “Class Session; Workshop”
  • Primary focus of instruction/outreach
    • Is Not “Collections; Departmental/Liaison Communications; Departmental Event”

Please contact Theresa Mastrodonato for questions concerning instruction-related subject librarian metrics. 

Collections
Individual Consultations form
  • Question Type
    • Transactions, Reference Consultations
  • Primary Reason for Consultation
    • Collections
  • Primary Patron Demographics
    • All
 
Instruction/Outreach form
  • Type of Instruction/Outreach
    • Is Not “Instruction”
  • Primary Focus on Instruction/Outreach
    • Is “Collections”
  • Primary Patron Demographics
    • All

Please contact Kate Sathi for collections-related subject librarian metrics questions.