ArtForum
- Artforum Archive (1962-2020) This link opens in a new windowThe 100,000+ page archive includes six decades of premier news, reporting and commentary about key developments in the art world. Its coverage spans all forms of contemporary art, including painting, sculpture, installation, body art, video/audio art, performance art and more.
Historical Newspapers
- New York Times, Historical (1851-3 year ago) This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Learn more about this database
- Saint Louis Post-Dispatch (1874 - 2003) This link opens in a new windowContains full text of the newspaper St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1874-2003 including its title variants. Learn more about this database
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Two local library systems (St. Louis Public Library and St. Louis County Library) have access to Newspapers.com. For either system, you can live anywhere in the St. Louis metro area in Missouri and get a library card for free.
The Newspapers.com database offers more than 10,000 digitized newspaper titles for large and small communities in the U.S. as well as newspapers in Canada, Australia, Ireland, the British Isles and Panama, from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. Includes the St. Louis Globe Democrat. Date ranges vary by publication.
SLCL (get a card). Newspapers.com
SLPL (get a card). Newspapers.com
Vogue Archive
The Vogue Archive is a complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included.
Tip: Use Advanced Search to find images by garment type, designer or brand names and photographer or illustrator.
Databases for Art History
- International Bibliography of Art (2008-) This link opens in a new window IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. Covers the history of art, decorative arts, museum studies, and conservation. Learn more about this database
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) See OpenBibArt
- Art Full Text (1984-) This link opens in a new window Articles from major art and architecture periodicals, with an emphasis on those in English. Includes a total of 378 periodicals with the full text of 93 journals back to January 1997. Updated monthly.
- Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) This link opens in a new window Journal index of over 600 major art and architecture periodicals .
More Databases for Art History
- ARTbibliographies Modern (1974 - ) This link opens in a new windowJournal index covering a large range of modern and contemporary art. Learn more about this database
- L'Année Philologique Online (1924-) This link opens in a new windowAnnual index of scholarly works relating to every aspect of Greek and Roman civilization, including the auxiliary disciplines of archaeology, epigraphy, numismatics, papyrology and paleography.
- Archäologische Bibliographie (via Projekt Dyabola) (1956-) This link opens in a new window A major bibliographical database for classical archaeology based on the catalog of the German Archaeological Institute. Indexes journal articles, monographs, and conference proceedings on Greco-Roman antiquity and related areas in all major European languages. Searchable in English, German, French, and Italian. Note: on the first page, click the checkbox in front of 'IP access' and then click Start; it opens a new window. Click the British flag to search in English.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1934-) This link opens in a new window Journal index covers more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Learn more about this database
- Design & Applied Arts Index (1973 - ) This link opens in a new window Covers all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window 'This database is a comprehensive index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. Records cover almost 100 years, from 1906 to the present. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.' (from database homepage) Learn more about this database
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window Interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa from the period 400-1500. The database comprises over 300,000 articles from over 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window "Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit partnership dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development and distribution of online resources."
Full Text Articles
- Art Full Text (1984-) This link opens in a new window Articles from major art and architecture periodicals, with an emphasis on those in English. Includes a total of 378 periodicals with the full text of 93 journals back to January 1997. Updated monthly.
- Project MUSE Premium collection This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies. Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together.
A-Z Database List
- A-Z DatabasesLooking for a database? Search by: Title, Database Type, Subject or Vendor/Publisher.
What is a scholarly article?
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleGuide from NCSU identifying various parts of a scholarly article.
- Peer Review in 3 MinutesAlso from NCSU, a quick tutorial on peer review.
- Scholarly Journals vs Popular MagazinesChart explaining differences between scholarly, popular, and trade journals.
