Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to Chinese Studies

Research Guide for Chinese Studies

COVID-19 Free E-resources accessible within campus IP address or off campus via WashU ID (till June 30, 2021)

E-Books

Contains the latest three-years published books across various disciplines. Books are downloadable.

Contains a collection of over 14,000 e-books in social science and humanities from the China Social Sciences Press. 

Contain 200,000 books from 1912 to 1949. Book pages are downloadable.

Contains 2,000 books from Taiwan. Books can be read online or checked out (till October 31, 2020)

E-Journals & Newspapers

Contains 4,449 journals in China, from 1912 to 1949. Articles are downloadable. 

Username: pingan2020; Password: pingan2020

Contains over 50,000 sorts of newspapers and periodicals. Covers the following three databases:

  • Chinese Periodical of Modern China - Literature Collection 中国近代中文期刊全文数据库-文学专题 1872-1949 
  • The Late Qing Full-text Database 晚清期刊全文数据库 1833-1911
  • Chinese Periodical Full-text Database 中文期刊全文数据库 1911-1949

Contains 300 journals in Taiwan. Articles are downloadable. 

Contains 158 newspapers in China, from 1912 to 1949. Newspaper articles are downloadable. 

Ancient Books & Archives

Social Science Databases (社会科学文献出版社)

References & Data