Research Guides: A Guide to African and African-American Studies Resources: Online Reference Sources

Web Resources

Oxford African American Studies Center (1 user)
Over 7,500 articles by top scholars in the field. Includes the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, and more.

African American Migration Experience
The African American Mosaic
Library of Congress
A Library of Congress guide for studying black history, focusing in particular on colonization, abolition, migrations, and the WPA. It taps the library’s collections, including books, periodicals, prints, photographs, music, film,
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
New York Public Library
A gateway to the Schomburg Center's resources, with extensive materials on many topics on African American history, including original documents, images, online exhibitions, and details on their extensive collection.
Digital Du Bois [electronic resource] / maintained by Special Collections & University Archives.
"Through Digital Du Bois, the Department of Special Collections and University Archives offers access to a variety of electronic resources, including selections of Dr. Du Bois's writings, exhibits about his life and times, scans of photographs, and links to resources at other institutions."
John Hope Franklin Collection for African and African-American Documentation
Duke University Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library
The site includes several digitized collections of rare documents, including collections on African American Women, slavery, and William Grant Still.
African American World
PBS
Includes a timeline, a "reference room" that points to National Public Radio and PBS content about African Americans, and sections for kids and community.
Africans in America
PBS
Companion web site to a documentary on slavery in the United States, providing narratives, teacher's guides, student activities, and original documents.
Salute to Black History
Lawson State Community College's "Salute to Black History" provides links, quotes, photos, etc. "to enrich your knowledge of the past and present and the selfless contributions made by just a FEW of the MANY great Black distinguished individuals that have
Who's Who Among African Americans
Provides biographical and career details on notable African American individuals, including leaders from sports, the arts, business, religion and other fields.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
"The set covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region.
more...less...
"Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government. With 3,000 nonpartisan articles written by specialists in anthropology, history, political science, religion and social sciences, this four-volume set is an indispensable tool in understanding the region's people, places, events and ideas."

Africa: South of the Sahara (Europa Yearbook)