written by John Earl Haynes, American historian who worked as a specialist in 20th-century political history in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress and the first American scholar to examine the records of the Communist Party USA, housed in the former archive of the Communist International in Moscow.
a collaborative, non-partisan project that makes U.S. Congressional archives available online, bringing the history of the People’s Branch to the people. We provide open access to archival materials and the descriptive information (metadata) about those materials.
This site is a prototype created with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities, 2021-2022. Project documentation is available in the white paper. The project will continue to expand partnerships, add archival collections, and improve site functionality in the future.
brings together hundreds of U.S. prison periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.
The American Prison Newspapers collection is made possible by a growing list of libraries that are providing funding to cover the publishing costs along with libraries that are opening their archives to provide the source material for digitization. This collection will be made Open Access when the cost-recovery threshold is reached. Until then, funding libraries have exclusive access to the content.
This bibliography is intended to serve as a means of access to the copious and wide-ranging gamut of information produced by the United States Government concerning the complex web of relations enmeshing the United States, the Greater Middle East (the Middle East, north and east Africa, and central Asia) and the terrorist threat to U.S. persons and interests that has emerged from that region in recent decades. Initially intended to point researchers to materials specifically concerning the events of 11 September 2001, the bibliography has grown to over 700 pages of entries representing a range of materials that, while spread across several decades and across large geographical regions, cannot be divorced from the phenomenon of terrorist acts committed against the U.S.
Between January 1965 and December 1966, the 89th United States Congress enacted the most extensive legislative program since the New Deal. The Voting Rights Act, Immigration and Nationality Act, Elementary and Secondary Education Act, and Social Security Act were the cornerstones of President Lyndon Johnson’s Great Society agenda. Utilizing images, government documents, press releases, personal correspondence, and other materials from Association of Centers for the Study of Congress member collections, “The Great Society Congress,” explores the central role that the 89th Congress played in the construction of the Great Society and reveals how some of the most impactful pieces of legislation in American history were debated and shaped.
contains historic photographs, documents, newspaper articles, letters, and other primary sources documenting Japanese-American life before,during, and after World War II. Prewar photographs focus on immigration to the United States and aspects of Japanese American life, such as leisure, business, and other everyday activities. The World War II–era materials center on what life was like in various internment camps throughout the (mostly) Western United States. Post–World War II collections focus on the late twentieth century (1990s onwards) with pictures of Japanese-Americans attending reunions, visiting internment camp historic sites, or giving interviews of their experiences in the camps during the war.
The materials in this archive demonstrate the multiplicity of Thomas Jefferson’s interests in the West, from the scientific and geographic to the political. The journals, reports, maps, treaties, and statutes in the archive offer important intellectual and geopolitical contexts for Jefferson’s correspondence and the policies he shaped while active in commonwealth and national politics.
University of Central Florida's Public History program links many projects under one initiative to promote the collection and preservation of Florida history. This includes Central Florida podcasts and documentaries, the GLBT History Museum of Central Florida, Veterans History Project, and RICHES Mosaic Interface, a searchable database with access to images, documents, podcasts, oral histories, films, and visualizations.
“The Wisconsin Historical Society has one of the richest collections of Civil Rights movement records in the nation, which includes more than 100 manuscript collections documenting the Mississippi Freedom Summer Project of 1964. More than 25,000 pages from the Freedom Summer manuscripts -- enough to fill several file cabinets -- are available online. In them you will find official records of organizations such as the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) and Congress of Racial Equality (CORE); the personal papers of movement leaders and activists such as Amzie Moore, Mary King and Howard Zinn, letters and diaries of northern college students who went South to volunteer for the summer; newsletters produced in Freedom Schools; racist propaganda, newspaper clippings, pamphlets and brochures, magazine articles, telephone call logs, candid snapshots, internal memos, press releases and much more.”
LDHI digital history projects focus on subjects such as: African American history and culture, Native American history and culture multicultural Atlantic World history, the history of colonial and antebellum slavery, women’s history, histories of class and labor struggles, post-Emancipation history, the history of the long civil rights movement in the South Carolina lowcountry.
The Nevada Test Site Oral History Project at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is a comprehensive program dedicated to documenting, preserving and disseminating the remembered past of persons affiliated with and affected by the Nevada Test Site during the era of Cold War nuclear testing (national laboratory scientists & engineers; labor trades and support personnel; cabinet-level officials, military personnel & corporate executives; Native American tribal & spiritual leaders; peace activists and protesters; Nevada ranchers, families & communities downwind of the test site). Searchable transcripts, selected audio and video clips, scanned photographs and images are available on this website.
contains an estimated 1,000,000 items including historic photographic prints, cased photographs, glass plate negatives, film negatives, stereographs, photo postcards, panoramas, color transparencies, and lantern slides. This important collection includes material of regional and national significance, dating from approximately 1850 to the present, covering subject matter that focuses on the history and people of New Mexico and the expansion of the West; anthropology, archaeology, and ethnology of Hispanic and Native American cultures; and smaller collections documenting Europe, Latin America, the Far East, Oceana, and the Middle East.
The Public Education Project seeks to reframe federal government history and promote the American public’s interest in, and understanding of, the story of their government. PEP reimagines that history as the cumulative work of a mosaic of diverse agencies and offices—guided by the president, the Congress, and the courts—taking action to meet the broad scope of the nation’s needs.
The PEP has created a set of videos on the histories of three federal agencies: the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (USDA); the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA): and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC). Each uses rare archival videos and images to tell an important and unique story from the agency’s history. To learn more about these and other federal agencies, see the PEP’s database of history pages from almost 250 departments, commissions, offices, and independent agencies.
Site developer Emily Thompson (author of The Soundscape of Modernity) weaves letters, forms, photographs, and other kinds of artifacts with fifty-four unique excerpts of sound newsreel footage (Fox Movietone newsreels from 1926 through 1930) to construct a network of content and context that invoke the experience tourist in 1920s New York City.
provides access to 35 audio files containing public remarks made by the Republican senator from Wisconsin during his controversial campaign to remove Communists and Communist sympathizers from government. The excerpts were created from original analog tape recordings in the Joseph R. McCarthy Papers at Marquette University.
currently contains 7 million pages of scanned materials. include documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids.
Founded in 1989 by a group of local Vietnam veterans and Texas Tech University, their mission is to support and encourage research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam experience and promoting a greater understanding of this experience and the peoples and cultures of Southeast Asia.
\a map of slavery’s end during the American Civil War. It finds patterns in the collapse of southern slavery, mapping the interactions between federal policies, armies in the field, and the actions of enslaved men and women on countless farms and city blocks. It encourages scholars, students, and the public to examine the wartime end of slavery in place, allowing a rigorously geographic perspective on emancipation in the United States.
This web site provides an overview of the War of 1812, outlining the major military conflicts as well as the principal causes and outcomes of the war. More importantly, the site provides access to fully digitized books and manuscripts for the use of anyone interested in exploring the War of 1812. The types of materials digitized include books, broadsides, prints, maps, correspondence, log books, legal documents, diaries, speeches, letter copybooks, orderly books, and receipts.
a catalog of Connecticut Federal Art Project Artists and their work. Includes data for each piece of WPA artwork in the state, detailed biographical files for most of the known 150 artists and for those discovered during the project, and a thousand B&W negatives of Connecticut WPA art work from the New Haven Museum and Historical Society.