Islamic and Near Eastern Studies Databases
(Above: Image of seated Afghan woman, in Kandahar, smoking by James Rattray in The costumes of the various tribes, portraits of ladies of rank, celebrated princes and chiefs, views of the principal fortresses and cities, and interior of the cities and temples of Afghaunistaun; source, New York Public Library.)
- Index IslamicusOver 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.' (from database help page)
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies This link opens in a new windowExamines the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. This interdisciplinary field combines history, religion, philosophy, anthropology, Arabic language and literature, as well as literatures in other languages including Persian, Turkish, and Urdu. e.
- Oxford Islamic StudiesBrings together the best current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world.
- JstorFull-text. Journal index. JSTOR consists of the complete back runs of about 90 journal titles, from whenever each title began publication to a point 3 or 5 years ago.
- RAND Voices of Jihad Database'This database is a compilation of speeches, interviews, statements, and publications of jihadist leaders, foot soldiers, and sympathizers. Nearly all content is in English translation, and has been collected from publicly-accessible websites.
- ATLA ReligionJournal, essay, and book review index. Contains thousands of citations from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion.
Huda Sha`arawi, Briefly
Above, Huda Sha`arawi (left) & Safia Zaghloul (right)
Hoda Sha`arawi
Born: 23 June 1879 in Miniya, Egypt
Died: 12 December 1947
Born to Sultan Muhammad Pasha in Upper Egypt, Huda (Hoda) Sha`arwi was one of the principle fouders of the Egyptian Feminist Union.
She launched a great public debate following her public removal of her face veil as she returned from the Rome Conference of the International Woman Suffrage Alliance.
In 1945, she was elected president of the Arab Feminist Union.
Before her death in 1947, the Egyptian state awarded her its highest decoration.
Adapted from Oxford Islamic Studies