Feel free to attend the following Brown School Library sessions. The sessions offer hands-on instruction.
Feel free to schedule a one-on-one session if the times below are not convenient for you.
A list of Brown School Library sessions with calendar icons is available at:
Canvas Tips for Using Course Reserves
Learn how to find and use the Brown School course reserves located in the Canvas system.
Please email the Library Associate for a one-on-one or small group appointment. firstname.lastname@example.org
Catalog of Library Materials
Learn how to search the catalog, request WUSTL items, set up a reading history, and renew checked out items. No registration needed.
September 9, 4:15 - 4:45 p.m., room G359
September 24, 12:15 - 12:45 p.m., room G359
Don’t Sign Your Rights Away: Author's Rights
Hope to publish an article in the future? Learn how to retain your copyrights so you can freely use your own work for teaching, scholarly, and professional activities. Otherwise, you may have to pay the publisher in order to use your own work. Learn about WUSTL's open access repository for articles. No registration needed.
Learn about the evidence-based resources. Covers evidence-based databases, websites, and filters. These resources should save you some time when doing evidence-based assignments. No registration needed.
Finding Similar Phrases
Learn how to find similar phrases in order to expand your database search. Covers the research guide tab, database thesauri, database words, and a thesaurus. No registration needed.
GIS Week in November (Geographic Information Systems)
Expected November, 2021.
Green Get-It Button: Tips and Tricks
How to use the green get-it button to access the full text and what to do when the full text doesn't display. No registration needed.
September 17, 12:15 - 12:45 p.m., room G359
September 23, 4:15 - 4:45 p.m., room G359
Interlibrary Loan (Mobius and Illiad)
WUSTL cannot buy every book and journal that is available. Learn how to use the interlibrary loan system to request items that WUSTL does not own. No registration needed.
September 10, 12:15 -12:45 p.m., room G359
September 22, 4:15 - 4:45 p.m., room G359
Library Resources After Graduation
Learn about the library resources that are available to you after you graduate. No registration needed.
Medline via PubMed: A Fantastic, Free Health Database
Learn how to effectively search PubMed for public health, psychological, and therapeutic information. Covers MeSH searching, applying limits, using the search history, changing the results display, accessing full text, using the evidence-based clinical queries, and more. No registration needed.
Open Access Month (October)
NIH Data Management and Sharing Plan Workshop
Oct. 13, 12 – 1:30 p.m. on Zoom
Learn what to include in an NIH DMS plan, resources at Washington University to help write and implement a DMS plan, and key information about the NIH DMS policy. Please register: https://becker.wustl.edu/civicrm/?page=CiviCRM&q=civicrm/event/info&reset=1&id=412
Tightwad’s Guide to Open Access
October 22, 1:00‒2:00 pm on Zoom
Dorothea Salo (Faculty Associate, UW-Madison iSchool) will deliver a keynote talk as part of Washington University’s Open October—a month-long series highlighting trends in open science, open data, and open access. Please register: https://library.wustl.edu/events/the-tightwads-guide-to-open-access/
The Evolution of Preprints in the Life Sciences
Oct. 29, 3 – 4 p.m. on Zoom
Discuss the evolving landscape of preprint servers; their interactions with journals, funders, and scholarly infrastructure; and how innovations in preprint-focused peer review and curation might influence the future of publishing. Please register: https://becker.wustl.edu/civicrm/?page=CiviCRM&q=civicrm%2Fevent%2Finfo&reset=1&id=411
Presented by the WUSTL Becker Medical Library. REDCap is a secure, web-based application for building and managing online databases and surveys. These workshops cover beginner, intermediate, and advanced level topics. Anyone interested is invited to attend the workshops and learn about REDCap and how to use it to collect and manage research data. Register for Zoom link: https://becker.wustl.edu/classes/redcap-workshops/
REDCap Workshop - Introduction to REDCap part 1, August 5, 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
REDCap Workshop - Introduction to REDCap part 2, August 12, 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
REDCap Workshop - Survey Setup and Distribution, August 19, 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
REDCap Workshop - Longitudinal Projects, August 26, 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
Responsible Conduct of Research Training: Data Management (Olin Library online session)
Grant awardees are often required to complete Responsible Conduct of Research (RCR) training. This training will present RCR throughout the research data lifecycle via the lens of data management and sharing principles and practices. Dorris Scott, PhD, social science data curator and geographic information services (GIS) librarian, will provide recommendations for useful resources and tools.
October 14, 10:00 a.m. ‒ 12:00 p.m. Please register: https://wustl.libcal.com/event/8142472
#SciComm Week Sept. 27 – Oct. 1, 2021
Join WUSTL Becker Library Sept. 27 – Oct. 1 for a week of virtual science communication events including a two-hour workshop presented by the Alan Alda Center for Communicating Science. #SciComm seminars cover perspectives on crafting and disseminating stories about science. Registration will open Wednesday, August 25: https://becker.wustl.edu/scicomm/
Transforming Slide Design, Tuesday, September 28, 3 – 4:30 p.m.
Join us for a 90-minute workshop on transforming your slides for more powerful presentations. Participants will learn the Assertion-Evidence slide design strategy to make more effective scientific presentation slides as well as strategies for putting this into practice.
Inclusion of Diverse Populations in Health Research, Wednesday, September 29, 10 – 11 a.m.
Join us for a presentation and Q&A with Dr. Joyce Balls-Berry, Associate Professor of Neurology and Inaugural Lead of the Health Disparities and Equity Core in the Knight ADRC. Hear Dr. Balls-Berry discuss her work with the All of Us Initiative and share lessons from her research on determining the best approaches for the inclusion of diverse populations into health research.
Creating Connections: An Introduction to the Alda Method, Thursday, September 30, 1 – 3 p.m.
The Alda Center’s Creating Connections program is a two-hour live, online workshop designed to help scientists and researchers learn to engage and inspire diverse audiences through effective communication, with a particular focus on virtual interactions. Participants will learn how to balance being prepared with responding in the moment to address questions. The program emphasizes universal communication strategies, including avoiding jargon and technical skills for creating engagement online, such as camera angles and sound levels.
Search Strategies for Database Searching
Learn about the basic search strategies and use them in a database search in order to find relevant articles. Covers Boolean Operators, truncation, phrase searching, field qualification, proximity operators, using the search history, and applying limits. No registration needed.
September 30, 4:10 - 5:00 p.m., room G359
Social Explorer Census & Social Statistics
Learn how to use Social Explorer for census and social statistics. Generate maps. Overview of the 2010 census and the American Community Survey. Produce statistical reports through the Premade, Keyword, and table features (age, race, households, education, income, etc.). No registration needed.
Social Welfare/Policy Library Resources
Learn about library resources that may help you with your social welfare/policy assignments. Covers Congress.gov, ProQuest Congressional, CQ Researcher, PAIS, and more. No registration needed.
October 1, 12:15 - 1:00 p.m., room G359
Tour the Brown School Library
Take a walking tour of the Brown School Library and learn where the resources are located. No registration needed.
August 31, 4:15 - 4:45 p.m., Brown Hall, Room 300
September 1, 4:15 - 4:45 p.m., Brown Hall, Room 300
September 2, 4:15 - 4:45 p.m., Brown Hall, Room 300
September 3, 1:00 - 1:30 p.m., Brown Hall, Room 300
Working with ArcGIS Online – A Platform for Online Mapping and Storytelling (Olin Library online session)
Learn to use ArcGIS Online to create maps and stories in this browser-based platform.
October 8, 12:00 - 1:00 pm CDT. Please register: https://wustl.libcal.com/event/8176752
Zotero – Find It, Save It, Cite It (Olin Library online session)
Learn how to use Zotero to gather references, organize references, and generate formatted citations.
October 4, 12:00 -1:00 pm CDT. Please register: https://wustl.libcal.com/event/8176749
Zotero Citation Manager
Learn how to use Zotero to organize citations and create APA bibliographies. No registration needed.
Here is the above list in chronological order:
August 26, 12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m., REDCap Workshop - Longitudinal Projects
August 31, 4:15 - 4:45 p.m., Tour the Brown School Library, Brown Hall, Room 300
September 1, 4:15 - 4:45 p.m., Tour the Brown School Library, Brown Hall, Room 300
September 2, 4:15 - 4:45 p.m., Tour the Brown School Library, Brown Hall, Room 300
September 3, 1:00 - 1:30 p.m., Tour the Brown School Library, Brown Hall, Room 300
September 9, 4:15 - 4:45 p.m., Catalog of Library Materials, room G359
September 10, 12:15 - 12:45 p.m., Interlibrary Loan, Room G359
September 17, 12;15 - 12:45 p.m., Green get-it button, Room G359
September 22, 4:15 - 4:45 p.m., Interlibrary Loan, Room G359
September 23, 4:15 - 4:45 p.m., Green get-it button, Room G359
September 24, 12:15 - 12:45 p.m., Catalog of Library Materials, Room G359
September 28, 3:00-4:30 p.m., Transforming slide design
September 29, 10:00-11:00 a.m., Inclusion of diverse populations in health research
September 30, 1:00-3:00 p.m., Creating connections: An introduction to the Alda method
September 30, 4:10 - 5:00 p.m., Search Strategies for Database Searching, Room G359
October 1, 12:15 - 1:00 p.m., Social Welfare/Policy Library Resources, Room G359
October 4, 12:00 - 1:00 p.m., Zotero – Find It, Save It, Cite It, Online session
October 8, 12:00 - 1:00 p.m., Working with ArcGIS Online – A Platform for Online Mapping and Storytelling, Online session
October 13, 12:00 – 1:30 p.m., NIH Data Management and Sharing Plan Workshop, Online session
October 14, 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m., Responsible Conduct of Research Training: Data Management (Online session)
October 22, 1:00‒2:00 p.m., Tightwad’s Guide to Open Access, Online session
October 29, 3 – 4 p.m., Evolution of Preprints in the Life Sciences, Online session