While some of the resources in this guide are freely available, most research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current Washington University student, faculty member, or staff member. See this page for off campus access information and additional help.
Medical texts, a drug database, case files, and practice guidelines.
Quick answers to surgical inquiries from trusted sources.
A searchable archive of historical documents gathered by the University of Michigan Center for the History of Medicine in collaboration with the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Journal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields. Updated weekly.
CDC Stacks is a free, digital archive of scientific research and literature produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). This online archive is composed of curated collections tailored for public health research needs. This repository is retained indefinitely and is available for public health professionals, researchers, as well as the general public.
Indexes journals and other materials in the fields of nursing and allied health.
Evidence-based healthcare. Includes several distinct searchable databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and others. Provides Cochrane evidence based reviews for interventions, therapies, and rehabilitation in the healthcare field. Clinical trials are searchable and linked to full text articles where available.
Offering valuable insights to students of the history of medicine and to researchers seeking an historical context for current epidemiology, the collection contributes to the understanding of the global, social history, and public policy implications of disease.
Ditki (formerly Draw it to Know it) provides a multi-modal, efficient learning platform for faculty and students. The step-wise, instructional approach to learning engages one in ways that promote quicker understanding and long-term retention, to encourage confidence in subject mastery. WashU has access to all the modules. Users will need to register for individual accounts to access the self-assessment exams. Includes modules in Anatomy and Physiology, General Biology, Neuroscience, Biochemistry and more. Prepare for exams with interactive exercises, drills, quizzes, and downloadable flashcards.
A public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. Access is limited to 3 users at a time. Please log out when you are finished.
Provides information on public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, helminthology, entomology, and mycology. Access is limited to 3 users at a time. Please log out when you are finished.
Information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles.
Covers the international reaction to global warming and climate change, the development of environmental health policy, the war on drugs, and a clinical view of narcotic addiction and mental health issues. Click Additional Info below for a list of collections included in Health and Environmental Studies.
Heath Poll Database is an archive of exclusively health-oriented survey questions. It is designed to support research on topics like the social determinants of health, access to care, individual health status, health policy, and health politics.
Book catalogue of the Army Surgeon General's library and the predecessor of Index Medicus/ Medline. Invaluable for searching materials on the history of medicine, especially pamphlets, dissertations, and journal articles from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
International database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care.
Key concepts, research techniques and experiments across multiple science disciplines, presented through video demonstrations and in-depth text explanations.
Indexes the scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean.
A service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). More information.
Thousands of full-text journal articles and eBooks providing medical, nursing, and allied health content. Also includes Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) and the National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on public health, a field with a mission to assess, develop, and assure the health of a population.
Articles from international medical journals. Includes Medline (1966-) and PreMedline (recent articles that are not yet fully indexed).
First-hand accounts of American infectious diseases. Part I: Newspapers (1736-1922), Part II: Books (1823-1928).
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports. Access is limited to 4 users at a time. Please log out when you are finished.
Science, social science, arts, and humanities citations for scholarly literature.
