"African American Perspectives" gives a panoramic and eclectic review of African American history and culture and is primarily comprised of two collections in the Rare Book and Special Collections Division: the African American Pamphlet Collection and the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection with a date range of 1822 through 1909.

Historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom.

Articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany. Also includes speeches, sermons, editorials, receipts, and other miscellaneous documents

The Black Women's Suffrage Digital Collection is a collaborative project to provide digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women's Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women's rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960. The materials in this collection include photographs, correspondence, speeches, event programs, publications, oral histories, and other artifacts.

The HistoryMakers Digital Archive contains over 2,000 interviews of distinguished African Americans in the fields of science, culture, politics, the arts, and public life. It is unique among collections of African American heritage because of its large and varied scope, with interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present.

The Civil Rights Movement Archive is a website dedicated to telling the history of the movement from the perspective of those who were there. It provides a history of the movement through photographs, digitized versions of original movement documents, personal stories and histories, narratives and interviews, as well as memorials and tributes to those who have passed on.

Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1470 - 1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Full digital facsimile from the Early English Books microfilm collection. Learn more about this database

Drawn from major repositories including the Danish Royal Library, the National Central Library in Florence, the National Library of France, the National Library of the Netherlands, and the Wellcome Library in London. Offers a diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Learn more about this database

Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Learn more about this database

A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Includes 9,500 English, French and German literature titles of the Romantic era.

Includes a diverse range of material from the archive of the Stationers' Company archive including constitutional records, court records, membership records, financial records, trade records, general administrative records, and charities and property records. The Stationers' Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the establishment of legal requirements for publishing, especially copyright provisions, the printing and publishing community and the history of bookbinding.

The China Studies Explorer cross-searchable platform provides a single interface for users to search three separate Adam Matthew resources for the study of China. This integrated platform allows students and researchers to discover rich primary source content more easily. The three collections that comprise the China Studies Explorer feature English-language sources relating to China’s history, literature and culture. Spanning three centuries from the 1800s to the modern era, the resources include rare printed books, pamphlets, manuscripts, diaries, newspapers and periodicals. These are supported by a range of incredible art works, illustrations and photographs.
Learn more about this database

Over 70,000 images of original documents relating to Empire Studies. The images are sourced from libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the British Library.

Sourced from the Manuscript Collections of the National Library of Scotland, and documenting the history of South Asia from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the granting of independence for India and Pakistan in 1947. 

Full-text and full-page-image access to books from 1450-1945, and pre-1906 serials. It focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Over 6 million pages from 29,000 works. Learn more about this database

Drawn from the collection of Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen. Contains books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. Includes over 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand in 15 languages. Learn more about this database

Over 120,000 pages of original documents relating to Gender Studies. Sourced from British and European libraries and archives.

Presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of 20th century and beyond from more than 35 countries. Features historical records of political and social organizations, publications by and for lesbians and gays, extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis, personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals.

An online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings related to transgender history throughout the world.

Documents drawn from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago. Includes contemporary newspapers and posters, records of key railroad companies, papers of early pioneers, explorers and hunters, manuscript travel journals, store catalogues, maps, illustrations, and literary and historical works.

News and analysis from reports gathered every day between the early 1940s and 1996 by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. These include translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents. Additionally, the archive contains one-of-a-kind analysis of the reports.

Documentation of voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrates heavily on the 19th century. By incorporating diaries, biographies, and other writings capturing diverse experiences, the collected material provides a window into the lives of ordinary immigrants. (Materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums)

Primary sources addressing key topics such as the immigration process and evolution of early Jewish Settlements, differing strands of Judaism in America, Jewish schools and charitable institutions, and civil rights and minority rights issues.

Essays on British social history collected between 1937 and 1972 during a project called the Mass Observation. Includes photographs, file reports, diaries, day surveys and links to other sites.

Comprised of four separate sections: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic, Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks, Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment, and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema.

Contains over 2 million pages from manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals, reflecting the widespread impact of the changes in crime and its policing during the long nineteenth century. The archive unites a number of geographic areas and disciplines, from law, criminology, and history to studies of popular culture and fiction.

Manuscripts and typescripts, newspapers, magazines, press kits, artist’s files, photographs, advertisements, memorabilia, and more from prominent library collections in the U.S. and UK. Key features include original video footage on key events and topics, and a multi-faceted chronology of the period with embedded articles and images.

Contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs, Also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long.

This collection of 2,360 formerly classified U.S. government documents (most of them classified Top Secret or higher) provides readers for the first time with the declassified documentary record about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War.

“The First World War: Personal Experiences,” drawn from archival collections around the world, provides an intimate glimpse into daily life in the army and auxiliary services, battles, trench warfare, weapons and equipment, and thoughts on the enemy, as seen through the eyes of the men and women who served in the First World War.  Rather than official publications or newspaper accounts, this collection includes diaries, letters, scrapbooks, sketches, and photographs.  Key features include interactive maps, 360° views of personal items and objects, and a virtual trench experience. 

Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI) archives, Socialism on Film documents the communist world from the Russian Revolution until the 1980s. All the films in this collection have been digitized from the original 16mm and 35mm film reels. The films cover all aspects of socialist life from society, war, culture, the Cold War, memory and contemporaneous views on current affairs. Footage includes documentaries, newsreels and feature films. Geographically the films deal with the Soviet Union alongside significant groupings of material on Vietnam, China, Korea, the German Democratic Republic and Eastern Europe, Britain, Spain, Latin America and Cuba.

Covers U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973. Learn more about this database