A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries - one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.
CLICK HEREfor many links to major and minor newspapers from South Asia in both English and South Asian languages.
Hosted by the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the purpose of the database is to identify and list South Asian periodical titles and to determine to what extent a periodical has been indexed. Open-access.
Compiled by Irene Joshi formerly of the University of Washington Libaries South Asia Section. This union list contains information on 3,000 newspapers and gazettes published in South Asia and abroad, including publications serving diaspora communities world-wide. Open-access.
Managed by the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this database enables you to find existing holdings of newspapers from South Asia by searching under 'language'. These materials are often microfilmed and held at CRL. Open-access.
The 1947 Partition Archive is a people-powered non-profit organization dedicated to documenting, preserving and sharing eye witness accounts from all ethnic, religious and economic communities affected by the Partition of British India in 1947.
Retrieves and restores works published in Afghanistan between 1870 and 1930; the long-term objective is to collect, catalogue, digitize and provide access to as many of this period's publications as possible.
Balochistan Archives is an executive agency of the Government of Balochistan which serves as the main repository for official records and documents of historical significance. Archivescontain evidence of financial and legal commitments, provide information about significant historical events, and help protect the civil and legal property rights of the citizens.
Promotes the study of rare and seminal documents which were influential in the formation of the notions of nation, state and culture during the colonial period. The project makes available rare colonial documents as searchable internet documents.
The portal will be the single largest collection of Bapu's original works and so will be a delight for scholars researching his works. Apart from the collected works, images of newspapers and journals that Bapu edited will be incorporated in the portal. These include Indian Opinion, Navajivan, Young India, Harijan, Harijan Bandhu, and Harijan Sevak. The portal will also feature maps consisting of multiple layers that show sites Bapu visited during his lifetime.
A collection of electronic editions of books and articles on Indological and related subjects. The focus is on older standard works, along with writings relevant to the history of indology and related fields.
The Online Burma/Myanmar Library is a database which functions as an annotated, classified and hyperlinked index to full texts of individual Burma documents on the Internet. It also houses a growing collection of articles, conference papers, theses, books, reports, archives and directories on-site.
The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA) was founded in 2008 in order to document and provide access to the diverse and relatively unknown stories of South Asian Americans. Our collection reflects the vast range of experiences of the South Asian diaspora in the United States, including those who trace their heritage to Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the many South Asian diaspora communities across the globe. (From website)
The Raffles Family Collection contains over 150 natural history and topographical drawings from Indonesia and Malaysia, as well as family correspondence and papers, and an important collection of diplomatic letters in Malay.
A site for collecting, digitizing, and documenting various materials produced by South Asia’s exciting popular visual sphere including posters, calendar art, pilgrimage maps and paraphernalia, cinema hoardings, advertisements, and other forms of street and bazaar art.A site for collecting, digitizing, and documenting various materials produced by South Asia’s exciting popular visual sphere including posters, calendar art, pilgrimage maps and paraphernalia, cinema hoardings, advertisements, and other forms of street and bazaar art.