Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to Economics Resources

Economics

Economics

ALFRED (Archival FRED)

ALFRED® allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available from various data sources. Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time. Currently, vintage data are available in 9 categories: Money, Banking, & FinancePopulation, Employment, & Labor Markets, National Accounts, Production & Business Activity, Prices, International Data, Greenbook Projections, U.S. Regional Data, and Academic Data.

American Economic Association

Established in 1885, the AEA is a non-profit, non-partisan, scholarly association dedicated to the discussion and publication of economics research. 

BigCharts
Comprehensive and easy-to-use investment research web site providing access to professional-level research tools like interactive charts, quotes, news, industry analysis and intraday stock screeners.

BRASS Business Guides – Economics The BRASS Economics Guide offers a selection of the best resources for finding data and information about economics and the U.S. and global economy.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.

Chegg Study

Learn the Economic topics you need to know with definitions, explanations and illustrations of key concepts.

Economic Report of the President
Explains the rationale for the budget submitted to Congress

The Econometric Society

Promotes studies that are directed towards unification of the theoretical and empirical approaches to economic problems and advancement of economic theory.

Economic Tutorials

Free Economics guides to learn the most important Economics at your own pace. These articles will teach you about the best of Economics.

EDIRC

Economics Departments, Institutes, and Research Centers in the World Economics Associations and Societies (United States).

The Encyclopedia of Law & Economics
Attempts to provide a survey of the whole law & economics literature, with a total number of pages of approximately 3,000.

FRASER

FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System. It is designed to preserve and provide access to economic and banking data and policy documents.

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
FRED offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. It is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data. 
Economics education resources include:

GEOFRED

GeoFRED is a part of the FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) family that allows users to map many of FRED’s data series. You can also transform the data and download it according to geographic category and time frame.

Guide to Online PhDs in Economics

This guide highlights the many benefits of earning this degree, breaks down specialization options that let students tailor their doctoral degree to their exact interests and careers goals, showcases financial aid opportunities that can help lower the cost of grad school, and much more.

History of Economics Society

Promotes research in the history of economics and facilitates communication within the scholarly community.

IDEAS

IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 3,300,000 items of research, including over 3,100,000 that can be downloaded in full text.

Index of Economic Freedom

Published by the Heritage Foundation, the Index of Economic Freedom covers 12 freedoms in 186 countries. Each freedom is weighted equally in determining country scores. Countries considering economic reforms may find significant opportunities for improving economic performance in those factors in which they score the lowest. These factors may indicate significant constraints on economic growth and prosperity. The Index of Economic Freedom can be explored using a variety of tools on the interactive website.

LaborDoc
The searchable catalog of the International Labor Organization (ILO).

National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
Access reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture including production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers.

National Association for Business Economics

An association of business professionals interested in latest data and trends economics for decision-making.

National Bureau of Economic Research
A private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals.

Resources for Economists on the Internet
Lists more than 1,600 resources in 97 sections and sub-sections available on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics.

UNdata

UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labor market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.

World Bank Map and World By Map

These websites provide the opportunity to create data visualizations via map formats.

World Factbook

The World Factbook is prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency for the use of US Government officials. It provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.