A selection of classic books from the Fundación Biblioteca Ayacucho Book Series. Developed by the Latin American Council of Social Sciences, the Ministery of Culture of Venezuela and the Fundacion Biblioteca Ayacucho.
A portal which facilitates access to Latin American social sciences grey literature from research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies outside commercial publishers. It includes working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Developed by the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project - LARRP, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC.
Digtized collection of travel accounts written and edited in the 16th and 19th century. Includes text in Spanish and English. Developed by professor James N. Green with the Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies.
A project dedicated to digitized the first books printed in Mexico and Peru in the 16th century. It includes digitized editions in PDF and JPEG from different institutions collections. Developed by University of Texas in collaboration with other universities and institutions from United States, Mexico, Spain, Chile and Peru.
A public archive of ebooks and digitized publications from Mexico. Includes complete books in ePub format, digitized manuscripts and official documents. Developed by the Secretary of Culture from Mexico state
Digitized documents from the National Police Historical Archive discovered in 2005. It covers multiple topics of human rights and Guatamela's history, including Guatemala's armed conflict between 1960 and 1996, and the sexually transmitted disease experiments performed at the behest of the United States government in the 1940s. Developed by the University of Texas' Lozano Long Institute for Latin American Studies, Rapoport Center for Human Rights and Justice, and Benson Latin American Collection, with the Archivo Histórico de la Policía Nacional de Guatemala.
Digitized collections from the Instituto Ibero-Americano. Includes theater and literature magazines from the 19th century in Argentina, Coleccion Zarzuela (a selection of digitized scripts and music sheets from zarzuelas from the 19th and early 20th century), a colection of digitized litographies from Jose Guadalupe Posada, manuscripts and prints of Roberto Alrt, among others.
A collection of digitized Latin American left-political and unions journals from the 19th and 20th century. Developed by the Centro de Documentación e Investigación de la Cultura de Izquierdas (Buenos Aires, Argentina)
Selection of digitized materials from the National Library of Mexico archive. Includes books, manuscripts, documents and rare books from the colonial to the XX century. Developed by the National Autonomous University of Mexico.
An open access portal of historical print and digital documents about the gender history in Mexico. Includes digitized journals, newspapers and rare books of the 19th and 20th century. The site was developed by professors Gabriela Cano and Camelia Romero Millán, and it is managed by the Daniel Cosío Villegas Library (El Colegio de México).
Digitized editons of documents and journals from Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s. It covers multiple periods and topics from Mexican American history, including Mexican Revolution, Braceros Program and the Chicago Movement. Developed by the University of Arizona.
Digitized archive of printed documents collected by the Guatemala News and Information Bureau (GNIB). Includes press releases, flyers and unpublished documents about Guatemalan movements for peace and justice, indigenous rights, and labor rights (1968-2000). Developed by Princeton University Library in collaboration with the Cooperative Digitization of International Research Materials (CDIRM) project, organized by the Council of American Overseas Research Centers (CAORC).
Digitized selection of newspapers published in Florida and Puerto Rico. Part of the National Digital Newspaper Program of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for Humanities. Developed by the University of Florida and the University of Puerto Rico.
A digital database of audio and film recordings, language documentation materials and field papers related to indigeneous cultures. Developed by the LLILAS Benson Latin American Studies and Collections, the Department of Linguistics, and the Digital Library Services Division of the University Libraries at the University of Texas at Austin. Requires registration.
Digital archive of annotated historical and etnographic video materials from 1974 to 2007. Topics included are human rights, political violence, youth movements, the Sandinista government, guerrilla media, revolutionary literature, armed conflict and international relations. It also emphasizes he ethno-linguistic and ethno-historical legacy of indigenous peoples. Presented by Indiana University Libraries and developed by the Center for Research and Advanced Studies in Social Anthropology (CIESAS) in Mexico, the Institute of History of Nicaragua and Central America (IHNCA) in Nicaragua, and the Museum of the Word and the Image (MUPI).
An independent project dedicated to connect artistic productions of sound and visual art related with mapping and cartography. It includes the project Mapas Sonoros de Latinoamerica, which archives a series of landscape sounds around the Latin American region. Developed by an independent team in Chile.
Digital video archive of performance practices in the Americas from 1970's to the present. Includes recorded performances from a selection of individual and groupal performers, interviews, conferences, encuentros and lectures about performance art. Developed by the Hemispheric Institute in collaboration with NYU Libraries.
A streaming platform of Latin American films. Selected titles are available outside Latin American region. Developed by the Agencia del Desarrollo del Cine y Audiovisuales Bolivianos (Bolivia), Instituto de Cine y Creación Audiovisual del Ecuador (Ecuador), Dirección del Audiovisual, la Fonografía y los Nuevos Medios del Ministerio de Cultura del Perú (Perú), Instituto Mexicano de Cinematografía de México- (México), ICAU-Dirección del Cine y Audiovisual Nacional del Uruguay (Uruguay) and the Dirección de Cinematografía del Ministerio de Cultura de Colombia (Colombia).
A collection or oral histories and artifacts pertaining of the Braceros program (1942-1964). Developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (George Mason University), the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, Brown University, and The Institute of Oral History at the University of Texas at El Paso.
Website of the Word and Image Museum of El Salvador. Includes documentaries from the museum, photography collections and digitized recordings of "Radio Venceremos" transmissions (developed with the University of Texas Libraries).
Archive of music recordings and partitures from multiple periods of Brazil. Musica Brasilis is an Institutional Member of ICOM – The International Council of Museums - and is accredited by the United Nations Volunteers initiative.
Digitized collection of maps and documents related with cartography. It focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. Developed by Cartography Associates and Stanford University.
Digitized archive of film posters produced in the US and Latin America. Includes American posters of the mid- twentieth century, Mexican posters from 1930 to the present and cine club pamphlets from Uruguay. Developed by the University of New Mexico Libraries.
A selection of photographs and visual materials from various Latin American countries from the 19th century to early 20th. It includes collections from Costa Rica, Peru, Bolivia, Mexico, El Salvador and Cuba. Developed by SMU Libraries.
Digitized archive of Latin American posters by social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations. Includes topics about uman rights, elections, gender issues, indigenous issues, labor, ecology and environmental issues, development, public health, and education. Developed by Princeton University Libraries.
A digital archive of cultural patrimony of Peru from the pre-hispanic era to the present. Developed by the Museo de Arte de Lima (MALI) and the Daniel Giannoni Photography Archive, in accord with the Ministry of Culture of Peru.