Skip to Main Content

About WashU Archives

This guide will help you navigate University Archives' more than 300 unique collections, most of which document the history of Washington University from 1853 to today. Other collections are related to 20th century St. Louis history.

Contact Info

contact special collections

Archive, Manuscript & Rare Book collections are accessed in Olin Library at the Special Collections reading room.

HOURS:  Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment

LOCATION:  Olin Library, 1st floor, Danforth Campus

REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS:  314-935-5495  spec@wumail.wustl.edu

*collections stored offsite require advance notice for retrieval and use

Questions about a specific topic? Contact:

University Archives: Sonya Rooney

Rare Books: Cassie Brand

Manuscript: Joel Minor 

Local History: Miranda Rectenwald

Dowd Illustration Research Archive: interim curator

Film & Media Archive: Andy Uhrich

American History Librarian

Profile Photo
Michael Schaefer
Contact:
Washington University in St. Louis
John M. Olin Library
Research Center, 1st floor, Room 128
e. michaelschaefer@wustl.edu
p. 314-935-7365

Finding Aids by Subject: Progressive Era & Gilded Age

Listed below are materials related to the "Progressive Era" and "Gilded Age" periods of American history (circa 1877 - 1917) in various WU Archives collections.  Some are large collections, and further relevant items can be located by browsing the finding aids with collection descriptions (linked from the title).


1904 World's Fair Primary Sources

Online Primary Sources

Secondary Sources

St. Louis
General

More Resources