Ebook sources in the Social Sciences
Sources are listed in alphabetical order. Click on this icon 
for use information such as file formats, ereader compatibility and restrictions.
- Books@Ovid This link opens in a new windowFull text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts. Color diagrams, charts, and other textbook illustrations are available as thumbnails or full-sized graphics. Ovid updates books with most recent edition or with chapter/section updates when they are received from the publisher. Select Books@Ovid and pull down "limit to Books" to browse the available eBooks including many of the current Washington Manuals. To download a PDF file select the View in Book Reader button to access the eBook. Then select the green arrow to view the available Tools. Export to PDF is one of the available Tools. Learn more about the new interface.
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsCatalog of publications from the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) since 1976. Many are available full-text, especially the more current documents.
- ProQuest Ebook CentralEBL includes books from many publishers. Some titles are available for short-term loan and some have been purchased by WU Libraries. You can limit your search to titles that are available at WU. WUSTL key and password are required for access.
- Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis: Economic Research PublicationsReports, essays, working papers, and journal articles
- HeinOnline Legal ClassicsMore than 1,800 titles on constitutional law, comparative law, political science, and other classic topics.
Researchers can browse the titles by name, author, or by subject. - National Academies PressFreely available PDFs of reports that are currently for sale on the National Academies Press (NAP) Website and PDFs associated with future reports.
- NBER Working PapersNational Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
- Open Scholarship Institutional Repository: Books and MonographsWUSTL's open access books and monographs found in Open Scholarship (WUSTL's institutional repository).
- OpenStaxOpenStax — high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks
- Oxford Scholarship OnlineOxford Scholarship Online is a vast and rapidly expanding cross-searchable library which offers quick and easy access to the full text of some Oxford books.
- Psychiatry OnlineA collection of textbooks, reference sources and news from American Psychiatric Publishing; includes DSM-V.
- RAND DocumentsIndex to RAND documents and reports dating back to 1948, covering social and economic policy issues in the U.S. and overseas, international policy, and national security. Many are available full-text in PDF format for free.
- ScienceDirectAn interdisciplinary resource. You can browse books by subject:
Social Sciences and Humanities > Social Sciences - Wiley Online LibraryAn interdisciplinary resource. You can browse books by subject:
Browse by Subject > Social & Behavioral Sciences
Ebook search tools
- Center for Research Libraries Digital CatalogDigitized versions for more than 16,000 titles; available to users at CRL member libraries only; WUSTL is a CRL member library.
- ConneXionsFreely available digital education materials, books, chapters, modules, papers
- Cornell University Digital CollectionsDigitized books on agriculture, bee-keeping, home economics, andmore.
- eBook holdings at WUSTL Becker Medical LibrarySome are WUSM only but many are available to all WU users
- OER (Open Educational Resources) CommonsKnowledge base around the use and reuse of open educational resources; OER Commons collection providers
- Open Textbook Library (compiled at Univ. of Minnesota)Tool to help instructors find affordable, quality textbook solutions. All textbooks in this library are complete and openly licensed.