Skip to Main Content
Biology Encyclopedias (Online)
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior
Full text. The Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior has engaged-with great success-the efforts of many of the best behavioral biologists of the 21st century. Section editors drawn from the most accomplished behavioral scientists of their generation have enrolled an international cast of highly respected thinkers and writers-all of whom have taken great care and joy in illuminating every imaginable corner of animal behavior.
Encyclopedia of Behavioral Neuroscience
Full-text. 'Unique in its breadth and detail, this encyclopedia offers a comprehensive and highly readable guide to a complex and fast-expanding field... gathers more than 10,000 entries, including in-depth essays by internationally known experts, and short keynotes explaining essential terms and phrases.' (from About this book linked from the site)
Encyclopedia of Evolution
'A comprehensive guide to the essentials of evolutionary biology, these entries by leading experts survey essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, and discuss both the history of the field and current controversies. Readers will find brief treatments on discrete concepts and individuals to illuminating lengthy essays by towering figures in the field. Topics include: Darwin, natural selection, human origins, behavioral ecology, diversity, mathematical models, and cell and developmental biology. Special essays include Stephen Jay Gould's "Macroevolution" and Jane Goodall and Elizabeth Vinson-Lonsdorf on "Culture in Chimpanzees." ' (from database homepage)
Encyclopedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures
It contains approximately 1,000 entries dealing in depth with the history of the scientific, technological and medical accomplishments of cultures outside of the United States and Europe, including intercultural articles on broad topics such as mathematics and astronomy.
Encylopedia of Mammals
Covers the behaviour, diet, distribution, and evolution of every known living mammal in the world.