Research Guides: Palestine, Israel, and the Arab-Israeli Conflict: Websites

Helpful Websites

Graffiti on the West Bank Wall in Palestine. Taken from Filipo Minelli's Creative Commons Flickr account. http://www.flickr.com/photos/filippominelli/ / CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

Palestine 1916- 2003: A Documentary Record (The Avalon Project at Yale Law School)
Primary documents of the Middle East conflict and peace process from the Sykes-Picot Agreement (1916) to the Wye River Memorandum (1998) are comprehensively brought together. Links to United Nations Security Council Resolutions (1948-1994) are also here.
Arab-Israeli Relations, Brookings Institution, D.C.
A Brookings "Top Topic" feature which brings together
papers and op-ed pieces by experts.
more...less...
The Brookings Institution has a number of centers that specialize in urban policy, the economy, and foreign policy. Their "World" site brings together research, commentary, policy reports, and working papers that deal with a broad set of issues with a global reach.
Central Bureau of Statistics, Israel
English and Hebrew. Detailed statistical information for the current year in English and Hebrew. Archives for different categories often go back to the 1990's.
Statistical Year Book (Jerusalem) also Tel Aviv & Haifa
Statistics on all aspects of Israeli life in Jerusalem, Tel Aviv & Haifa; labor, industry, climate, health, tourism, construction, vital statistics.
more...less...
The Jerusalem Institute for Israel Studies (JIIS) an independent, non-profit organization to bridge between the academic and the practical, was founded in 1978. it maintains a balance of highly qualified academics and practitioners, and provides a constant flow of relevant, accurate, and in-depth data, policy papers, and professional analysis for use by decision-makers, researchers, and the general public. Its studies serve as a valuable resource for a variety of governmental bodies, public institutions, and civil organizations.
Palestinian Central Bureau of Statistics
From website: The Palestinian Central Bureau of Statistics aims to develop and enhance the Palestinian official statistical system based on legal grounds that organize the process of data collection and utilization for statistical purposes.
Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
by ProCon.org, a non-profit, non-partisan education website on a number of high controversy issues.
Country of Words: A Transnational Atlas for Palestinian Literature
Digital humanities project that traces and maps the movements of Palestinian literature
Project Ben-Yehuda
This is a Hebrew-language project to preserve and document Modern Hebrew literature

Image Websites and Databases

Compfight
Searches flickr for images based on keyword searching.
AP Images
Provides access to more than 700,000 news media photographs with a full descriptive caption giving the details of the event.
Wikimedia Commons
A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language.
New York Public Library Digital Collection
Provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Free Palestine Project
A curated archive of free posters for the Palestinian cause submitted by designers from all over the world.