Full-text. '...this work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history."
Subjects:Civilization, Islamic -- Encyclopedias; Islam -- Encyclopedias. "This volume of Encyclopaedia Islamica is the first of a projected 16-volume publication, consisting of an abridged and edited translation of the Persian D¯a’irat al-Ma’¯arif-i Buzurg-i Isl¯am¯i, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world."
Contains over 3,000 articles of decorative arts production in western and non-western cultures over thousands of years. The historic uses of diverse materials are included, art forms and styles defined, and the history of decorative arts are discussed.
Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Art History, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms An authoritative guide with extensive surveys and in-depth, signed full-text articles on the history of art written by noted scholars in their respective field of expertise. (8 concurrent users)
Art & Architecture Dictionaries: The Premium Collection brings together over 100 key Oxford subject dictionaries and reference works into a single cross-searchable resource. To search all reference works: go to Subjects and Books-Advanced Search.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History from 20,000 BCE to the Present. Includes thematic essays, world maps, and works of art index for the over 6,000 objects from the Met's collections featured on the timeline.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a ground-breaking reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world.
Designed for general readers with little or no knowledge of Islam, this dictionary provides more than 2000 entries organized in an easy-to-use, A-Z format. Entries cover major political movements, landmarks and events, and include terms from Islamic law and biographical profiles.