"This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics."
An "academic website which gives teachers, librarians, parents, and students a place for designing literature-based thematic units for all subjects....[including] abstracts of over 5000 children's picture books; search capabilities for over 950 keywords, including topics, concepts, and skills which describe each book;weblinks for keywords so you can integrate your up-to-date content knowledge with our picture book resources."
"This web site contains links to annotated bibliographies of children's multicultural books appropriate for the elementary grades (kindergarten through grade six). Cultural groups currently listed include: African Americans, Chinese Americans, Latino/Hispanic Americans, Japanese Americans, Jewish Americans, Native Americans, and Korean Americans."
"The lives of the young provide a valuable window into many of the most important themes in American history, including colonization, slavery, westward expansion, industrialization, urbanization, immigration, the growth of government, and the impact of war on American society."
"Examine digital editions of 140 schoolbooks and two surveys of historic schoolbooks by John Nietz, the founder of the Nietz Old Textbook Collection. The online collection contains page images as well as searchable text."
"Adoption is a significant public and private issue. This site is based on the conviction that history is an indispensable resource for understanding the personal, political, legal, social, scientific, and human dimensions of this particular form of kinship. The Adoption History Project is devoted to making adoption history accessible and interesting to visitors who may not be aware that adoption has a history at all."