Research Guides: College Writing: Ampersand Ireland: Archaeology

Anthropology Databases

Anthropology Plus via FirstSearch or Anthropology Plus via WorldCat.org (5 concurrent users allowed)
Now on OCLC FirstSearch. Journal index. Contains both Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, UK. Citations to articles and essays in anthropology and archaeology, from works published in En glish and other European languages, 19th century to present.

AnthroSource
Full text. Brings 100 years of anthropological material online, including current issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association's most critical peer-reviewed publications; an electronic archive of all AAA journals; holdings information; seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications. Searchable.

Oxford Bibliographies Oline: Anthropology
more...less...
Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology is a robust, reference resource offering on and offline materials in Anthropology. A dynamic discipline, anthropology examines humankind from its beginnings to the present day; it is typically divided into four subfields: sociocultural anthropology, archaeology, physical anthropology, and linguistic anthropology - each field is further divided into its own subfields. (Description adapted from the resource)

Reference - Archaeology (general)

Encyclopedia of Archaeology
The Encyclopedia of Archaeology encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.
Keyguide to information sources in archaeology
by Peter Woodhead
International Dictionary of Historic Places
Essays on the history of 1,000 historic places
The Oxford companion to archaeology
Editor, Brian M. Fagan
The atlas of world archaeology
Edited by Paul Bahn
The Oxford handbook of archaeology
Edited by Barry Cunliffe, Chris Gosden, Rosemary A. Joyce
The Penguin archaeology guide
edited by Paul Bahn
The Facts on File dictionary of archaeology
Editor, Ruth D. Whitehouse
Archaeological method and theory : an encyclopedia
http://catalog.wustl.edu:80/record=b2652120~S2
more...less...
Editor, Linda Ellis.