Psychology & PNP Librarian
Brown Hall, Room 301C
Phone: (314) 935-8644
Email: mvetter@wustl.edu
Brown School LibraryBrown Hall, Room 300
brownlibrary@wustl.edu
(314) 935-6633
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
The Mental Measurements Yearbook series provides a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments containing information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Also produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Tests in Print provides vital information including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index assists users to identify what is being measured by each test.
Why Use Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print?
These two products are the standard tools used to identify commercially available tests that can be used to assess a number of situations.
Tests in Print provides a comprehensive bibliography of available tests, while Mental Measurements Yearbook provides reviews of tests.
Not all tests listed in Test in Print will be covered in Mental Measurments Yearbook. Tests in Print does not include all known tests either. The publishers intentionally omit research and proprietary instruments.
Other Sources for Locating Tests & Measures
- PsycINFO (1887- )Add the word "appended" in the Tests and Measures field along with your search.
- HaPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments)This database provides information about research and survey instruments, such as questionnaires, checklists, rating scales, and interview forms. A password is required for use -- contact the Help Desk or mvetter@wustl.edu for access.
- Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental MeasuresDirectory intended "to provide researchers ready access to sources of recently developed experimental measures." For the most part, only American journals were used as sources.
- Test Collection at ETSThe Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers.